We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas at it's best”
Review of Cava Restaurant

Cava Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cava Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #373 of 8,519 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: St. Clair
Transit: St. Clair subway station is located two blocks south of Cava on the south east corner of Yonge & St. Clair
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tapas at it's best”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is as amazing as you'll find for tapas in T. There's several pleasantly surprising choices to choose from and the wine list is extensive. If you're looking for a unique dinner experience this is the place to go. It is pricey so either save up for the experience or if money is no question and you like food then try every and anything that appeals to you. It's 10 mins from where I live and we love dining there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lucky us - we live in the 'hood!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten at Cava at least 10 times and every meal has been a memorable experience. The food here is simply the best in Toronto - beautifully plated, inventive dishes with an interesting mix of flavours and ingredients - not a miss among them. My favourites include the papas fritas, sweetbreads, eggplant, sable fish & ceviche, but I could literally go on and on. Ask for advice on cava, wine and sherry and you will find knowledgeable staff eager to assist. We've had romantic meals for two and large groups and the food and service are equally top-notch. The only thing bad about a twosome is you don't get to try as many dishes!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank yygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Why hello there Sangria...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Absolutely amazing experience. If impending inebriation hadn't been a factor, I could've kept the Sangria flowing all night. I don't think there is anything like this place in the city. While some may consider the food/drink expensive, IT IS DEFINITELY WORTH IT. Octopus, the Papas Fritas that they cook with rosemary (one order is simply not enough) Jamon Serrano, amazing wines, not to mention the chocolate con churros...I felt as though I had travelled back home to Spain. Service was excellent, they sensed my father was a wine guru and even offered him some 'off the menu' wine selections that he loved. Can't wait to go back, highly highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BahamaMama13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very Good and Interesting Food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A group of four of us decided to let the chef choose our meal after being asked a couple of questions regarding our taste. The staff then brought out about 12 plates of food (one or two at a time) for sharing. Some dishes (scallops) were fine but not spectacular, others (duck) were superb. Interesting combinations of food. I think we were underwhelmed given the hype and reputation before hand. Underground parking attached to restaurant complex which was a bonus. Wine was fine. Cost was up there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cava is great, and until June 23, you get Prince if Denmark at lunch”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Cava has always been one of the consistently best restaurants in Toronto, but right now the chef is running a pop-up restaurant there for lunch serving Danish open-faced sandwiches. We ate at the best-rated restaurants in Copenhagen, but none if them compared to Prince of Denmark. We had pea soup, nettle soup, lobster salad, hake, mackerel, smoked salmon, and asparagus sandwiches. Each was fresh and delicious, with different spreads. Amazing. Don't miss it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cava Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Cava Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing