We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

California Sandwiches
Ranked #848 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: North York
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although I have never seen anyone finish their sandwich without it falling apart, they are savory and made to order right in front of your eyes. They aren't stingy on the toppings (likely because you have to pay for each item extra), but it is worth every dollar as the ingredients that you're getting are high quality and cooked just right.

Also with enough notice they are happy to fill even you're largest orders. (Our office ordered around 100, and they were all ready in a little over an hour.).

Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    48
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian-on-a-bun”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

There's nowhere esle in Toronto where, for eight bucks or so, you can get a sandwich that's a complete Italian meal. The veal, meatball and eggplant sandwiches are served smothered in Mama's delicious home-made tomato sauce.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Docentguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As soon as i got off the plane I headed for california sandwiches at Downsview. Wow biggest burgers ever.. Make other burgers look like a dime, and taste great too. coupled with a nice glass of olives. great service and very clean. The wash room is very clean and I also saw wheel chair accessible (dont know if this is mandatory). Great burgers peeps

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coryy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Huge sandwhiches”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner bought a chicken sandwhich for lunch one day and kept bugging me to try a bite. I wasn't really in the mood to eat it at the time but once I tried it, cold and all I loved it. I liked it so much we made a trip out that same week to get it again. This time I got to have it hot and it was delicious. A few people on my street go there now since we all love the portions and the price is resonable for the good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Claremont Location!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Best veal in the city! Only at this location though the others fall way short. Huge portions of tender lightly breaded veal, good buns, great sauce, not as good as my Gramma's but worthy. The other locations either the sauce is too salty, the portions are smaller the veal is not as tender, they just don't cut it. San Francesco's up the street in the second best in the city avoid there other location on Coxwell same issues. Adios amigo's

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Senior_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Sandwiches also viewed

 

Been to California Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing