We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely dining experience”
Review of Joy Bistro Bar - CLOSED

Joy Bistro Bar
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: East End
Cross street: Logan Ave
Description: "The Heart of the Neighbourhood"Joy Bistro is serving fresh, innovative comfort food with global influences.Our brunch a famous for the gluten free rosti potato that the eggs benedict are served on. Our house smoked half chicken is a favourite amongst regulars, and don't miss out on the delicious bistro frites.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my third time having dinner at Joy Bistro and they have lived up to previous visits. The service is consistently good, the servers are friendly, the food is very good and the atmosphere is quite relaxing. Its not noisy so its also possible to have a conversation with your dining partners.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    31
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“This place is bigger than you think...”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great choice of restaurant for Leslieville. A little on the expensive side considering where it is but the food is good. Service was a little slow even though the restaurant wasn't full. Lack of staff would be my guess. Enjoyed it and will go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“very consistent - always nice.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013


Nicer in the summer when you can enjoy the patio. The upstairs is used for private functions which I have been to a few there and they have all been well done. Nice room. The food is always good and on a personal note, it was on a warm September evening (early) that I met my future wife Keltie for our second date. We met there to have a drink only after not having seen each other for several weeks because of our schedules after our first date, and we ended up staying for dinner and 8 years later (and as they say) the rest is history. Always busy, always good food and service. Usually you can't go wrong there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EasyRider54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Don't go for the mussels. But everything else (especially the salmon which was phenomenal) was very tasty. Good selection of beer and wine by the glass.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srhodesmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Give it another try”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are regulars at Joy for weekend brunch - at least twice a month for the past few years. The brunch has been consistently good, but not spectacular. However, changes in the kitchen are definitely going on. The past few weeks have been absolutely amazing and there are many more choices for breakfast now. Last week, I had lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberries - fabulous. Today, I had the best waffles I've had in my life - served with a blueberry mouse, maple syrup and blueberries & strawberries.
This review is only on the weekend brunch as I've rarely been there for other meals.
If you'd tried the brunch in the past - give it another try

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Bistro Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing