We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cladio Avril is a master chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colborne Lane - CLOSED

Colborne Lane
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cladio Avril is a master chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

very imaginative food - a real foodie experience - you need to be into gastronomic experiments and sharing small portions of plated food - not for the "meat and potatoes" crowd

Helpful?
Thank MDK009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

First time at this restaurant and was VERY impressed. Food on the tasting menu was creative and tasty. The nine-course tasting menu was just the right amount of food. Service was good; a little more information about wine pairings would have made it great. But staff was attentive, gave the right amount of time between courses. A wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sorry we went”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very disappointed with our recent dining experience here. We decided to go with the tasting menu and flight of wines. Needless to say, our orders were mixed up, there was iinsufficient nformation of selections of wine and the food was not to our expectation. I think I enjoyed just 2 courses out of the selection. When we go out to a restaurant, we would like the quality of food to match the pricing of the food, especially when prices at this restaurant are not cheap. It did not live up to our expectation and will not be going back here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buggaboo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely place tucked away in Toronto downtown core”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Famous for its tasting menu and voted for top dating restaurants for some websites, it is tucked away from downtown financial district, yet close enough for an easy 5 minutes walk. Went there a Friday night, wasn't super busy, one of the table was a bit loud. Great service and food, limited wine selection. In all, worth trying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best we've had in Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have to agree with the below review in pretty much every way.
The food is innovative, perfectly executed, and artfully presented.
Not only was our meal here on Saturday the best we've ever had in Toronto, but it easily measured up to (and in some cases exceeded) several Michelin rated restaurants we dined at in NYC. If Michelin rated in Canada, it would be a two or three star for sure.
Service was spot on as well.
Prices are very reasonable for the quality delivered.

Next time we'll go all out and do one of the tasting menus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colborne Lane also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing