We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Portuguese-Spanish Resto in Toronto”
Review of Adega

Adega
Reserve with OpenTable
Adega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 8,576 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge and Dundas
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Good Portuguese-Spanish Resto in Toronto”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently returned for dinner with my family at Adega (33 Elm St., Toronto, Ontario, CA), having first dined there nearly a year before during a similar visit to Toronto. Our impression on that first visit was confirmed by the most recent experience: a good restaurant in its genre, very good on the salads and appetizers as well as with desserts, but only satisfactory regarding the entrees (a C or C- in academic terms: that would be a 5 or 6 in the European academic system). On the first visit my wife and I both ordered the Herb-Encrusted Atlantic Salmon, which proved to be just so-so. Our son had it on the most recent visit with the same reaction: just OK. On this last occasion my wife and I ordered the Seafood Saffron Risotto. It took quite some time for it to be served following our first course (perhaps because in the Adega's 'cellar' there was a large group having a special dinner (the chef & kitchen may have been slammed). However, when it was finally served, the risotto was, well, B to B-; in other words, good --once a bit of salt was added to the dish (and we rarely, if ever, add salt to a restaurant's dish once served). Our server was especially courteous and attentive, which helped. We will probably return to Adega on a future visit to Toronto, since we believe in giving a promising establishment a fair chance to show its best. Maybe three visits will prove to be the charm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    128
    32
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was a very enjoyable dinner for sure. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. We asked for his recommendation on the wine and it turned out well. For appetizer, we ordered sardine and Portuguese chourico sausage. Both portions were quite generous. The sardines was very tasty, grilled just right with olive oil and sea salt. However, I found it just a little too bony. The chourico sausage was excellent. We like the spice, not too hot but with a nice 'kick' to it.

For dinner, we had grilled squid and fish stew. We finished the grilled squid and had to take most of the fish stew home because we were full. The squid was tender with very flavorful grilled taste. The fish stew is a 'must try' in my opinion. Lots of seafood in a tomato base sauce. We ate the leftover with Udon the next day and it was fabulous!

Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamam201305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, service, don not seat close to kitchen .......”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was sitting at the back of the restaurant. Service and Food was good. The kitchen stuffs were very loud. You can hear them talking and swearing ! !! Specially if you speak Spanish, you will understand everything.(next time I will ask for a table in the middle or close to the door). The management should take step to prevent the noise from the kitchen because its really annoying. It was okay if only few times but they were loud all night we stayed there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jus19755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our first restaurant in Toronto”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

And very nice it was too!
A cold wet Summer's day, and a great place to eat well, drink well, and avoid the wintry blasts outside.
Why did we leave? Really only because we'd finished a lovely lunch and we had to!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesmW3102FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find on Elm”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Adega and thoroughly enjoyed it! Carrot-coconut-sweet potato soup, grilled sardines, grilled squid and pan-roasted salmon. Everything was delicious and service was very very nice. The restaurant has lovely artwork on the walls and a very nice atmosphere. I would recommend Adega over many of its neighbors!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega also viewed

 

Been to Adega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing