We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and accommodating service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adega

Adega
Reserve with OpenTable
Adega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge and Dundas
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food and accommodating service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had an amazing meal here.

The waiter was very accommodating - I wanted a different red wine by the glass and I was presented with 3 tasters (none of which were on the menu) to choose from. I asked for something tomato-y as a side for my fish and got it.

Highly recommended and if I am in Toronto again I'll be going back (which is saying something as there are SO many great restaurants in Toronto... and this is one!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil_S87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    124
    32
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I selected this place for an informal lunch, based on good TA reviews and the preview of the menu online. The place had a nice atmosphere and the tables were not crammed in so I didn’t need to listen to other people’s conversation. My spicy prawns with pasta were delicious and so was the white wine. We stayed there for a while after finishing the meal and yet didn’t feel under pressure to rush out. The service was just great. I won’t hesitate to come here again next time I visit Toronto.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonikafromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hm.. Could be BETTER !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well.. I have been searching for a new portuguese restaurant to visit and I was not impressed.
The food was good, but the menu is not really a traditional portuguese menu .. Just a couple dishes there were literally portuguese.. I also found it way over priced for what it is.. Nothing in my 3 course meal had a wow factor that would pull me back to visit. Adega is a OK restaurant for the price range that it is.. with that price tag I believe you should walk out saying " Oh wow, that was amazing.. "

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatGigglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
503 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Hit the spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was just what we were looking for in a restaurant. Having read the TA reviews I was quietly confident that it wouldn't disappoint. It's truly Portugese food using lovely spices and interesting types of fish. There's a rustic feel and although busy it was buzzing rather than noisy. Can't fault the food or the service, it deserves a high rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were in Toronto for the Film Festival and between films we had a great lunch at this Portuguese restaurant. We ordered seafood and it was very fresh and well prepared. The restaurant feels
expensive with good linens and attentive, professional service. The prices were surprisingly reasonable.
Not 'dead cheap" but well priced. We ordered an appetizer of grilled fresh sardines, a soup, and two of the house specialties, a Cataplana (seafood stew) that had a lot of fresh seafood and would have been enough to share. It comes steaming in the traditional cataplana copper pot. We also had the grilled octopus which was fork tender and delicious. We were too full for dessert. Of all the restaurants we tried in Toronto this was
the most pleasant experience and the food was tops. We recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega also viewed

 

Been to Adega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing