We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brunch”
Review of The Ace

The Ace
Ranked #402 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: West End
Description: The Ace is a restaurant & bar, serving dinner 7 nights, lunch on weekdays, brunch on the weekends & great craft beer, wine, and cocktails every night.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went with friends to the Ace for brunch before walking over to high park. Place is small and has a greasy spoon feel. But the brunch menu is not generic at all. The kimchi dish (forget what its called) was fantastic. The burrito and bene were great too. And all had some kind of unique spin to them, but not too unique where it just becomes weird. Place is small, expect to wait a bit for a table, esp if more than 2 people. And it was only about $20 each including drinks, tax and tip. But worth the wait. Def will go back for brunch in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Ace for Brunch”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

When to The Ace for brunch after seeing the place profiled on the Food Network. As a child I had been to the original Ace Canadian-Chinese food restaurant numerous times. Obviously, the new Ace is a completely different style of place. For weekend brunch the wait is long as the place has limited seating. The brunch menu, unlike the weekday menu, is short on kids items, so the kids went with Nutella sandwich while I tried the Mexican inspired plate. Get your order in and don't expect to ask for extra this or that because it will be hard to get. Food was OK, service is leisurely, so if time is an issue, don't do brunch. The tip was set at 20%, which I think should start at 15% myself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sleepytraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's funky, Mom and I found it”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

not a typical restaurant, but very nice. space is limited but that's true of nearly everywhere in Toronto so I didn't deduct. we shared the buffalo fries (which had a sweetness to it that is unique), I had the country chicken (which was different...like Asians learned how to cook southern u.s. and bonus points for the ham gravy)...mom had the veggie burger and...well...I wish I ordered that because the mushrooms were mild, the tomatoes were robust but the kicker was the garlic dill aioli. then I tortured my diabetic mom by eating the skor pie. overall, amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psychoflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming hipster diner”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Love the cocktail list, the brunch, the mussels, and the kale salad.
Also really intrigued to try their dessert the next time I'm there. The home made oatmeal ice cream sounds amazing.
Very cute interior with a mix of old and new. Definite worth a try if in the neighbourhood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I live in Roncy neighbourhood and love coming here. The food has always been delicious and the service great! Their brunch is fantastic and their dinner divine. Their menu changes daily and so far I haven't had anything on the menu that I don't like. It really is awesome. Don't come here with a large crowd however because the tables are tiny (most only fit 4 as they are the old booths from the Chinese restaurant that used to be here years ago).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ace also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to The Ace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing