We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time - still good”

Buk Chang Dong Soon To Fu
Ranked #505 of 8,569 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Korean
Neighborhood: West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West End
Northfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second Time - still good”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Second time we visited Toronto and likewise to this place. A very good tofu stews and rice pots. Always enjoy the homemade taste so far away from home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank desertpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Spicy seafood tofu soup is spicy but soooo good, and it's cheap

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First time we tried Korean food - won't be our last”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The main course was accompanied by 4 side dishes, aside from the rice - bean sprouts, yellow beans, cabbage and another vegetable. The food was served very hot and stayed hot throughout the meal as it was served in hot pots on wooden trays so they could be passed.

The waiter was very helpful as we had no idea what to order and how to go about eating it when it was served.

The barbecued beef dish was excellent. The seafood tasted good, but the shrimp in it were small and hadn't been peeled, so we didn't bother eating them. When the seafood in broth was served, the waiter told us to crack the egg he had given us and stir it into the soup - making our own egg drop soup.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdberns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fast, healthy, reasonable prices (main dishes < 9 CAD)”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

• Atmosphere: Your average Korean restaurant, OK
• Food: Came quickly and was tasty. The bulgogi was delicious (for the price, especially), although I've had it better. The rice was good, the selection of side dishes was rather generous and pretty good as well.
• Price: Very reasonable (bulgogi + rice + side dishes for ~8.95 + tax)
• Service: Quick and average friendly.

Would I come back and/or recommend it to a friend? Yes
Do I know an alternative? Yes, Joon's on Bloor St is even better

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, cheap, tasty nutritious!”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Best Korean tofu soups, bibimbaps and bulgogi in town. Honestly, I have been going there regularly over the last three years and have never been disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank squirrelkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buk Chang Dong Soon To Fu also viewed

 

Been to Buk Chang Dong Soon To Fu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing