We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
10
16
8
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
16
8
7
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We booked this guesthouse on hotels.com for our overnight stay in Toronto, the pictures and description looked good on the website so got a huge shock on our arrival. The building was very grotty and enterence and hallway grubby and dirty. Our room was musty and there was no running water in wash hand basin I had to brush my teeth in the bath which was also very dirty. The bedside light didn't work. All in all a very bad experience not to be repeated it spoiled our visit to a beautiful city

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank maevehalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global Guest H, Owner at Global Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

We are extremely distressed and concerned about your review.
First let me ask, "Why in the world would you not talk to us about your concerns and reaction. We are here continuously".
Second The faucett for the sink works just fine. You apparently did not know how to use it by pulling streight up on the handle. Again, no call to the office to allow us to solve this "problem" for you.
Third we are a very old historic house and not the 21st century "Marriot" hotel. Your reaction to this by referring to us as very grotty and musty is not what 95% of our guests would say. We have lots of satisfied guests who appreciate the Victorian ambiance. But always there will some who expect total 4 star ambiance at our low prices. Just unreasonable expectations.
Finally, to repeat, Why in the world would you not talk to us??


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

Very early turn of the century building. A very home like feeling. Very pleasent staff. room was very cozy. subway and street car terminal is right next door. decent size room with private bathroom. There is parking but limited on site. There is city paid paid parking ( actually cheaper than expected) next to the building. Good so far.

Room Tip: ground floor has 2 double beds and private bath for a very reasonable rate, clean and cozy
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rctaylor2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

We booked their last minute found it at a decent price online. Initially it wasn't so bad, decent location right beside spadina subway station. They do not offer parking. But there is a lot right beside $5 overnight max amount from 6pm-7am and $9 max during the day from 7am-6pm. They offer a small kitchenette microwave fridge water kettle instant coffee and tea. The morning we woke up and we did find a bed bug on our pillow. We were pretty sure it was dead but treated as Alive with the stuff we brought home. So be weary and check the bed prior to sleeping !

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ag3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Booked this last minuet to stay here with my boyfriend as we were in the area for a concert! And it's such a cute little place! Very friendly staff, lovely room, we had a shared bathroom but it wasn't as bad as I imagined was very very clean and tidy! Can't complain we paid $95 CAD for two people for one night and it was very good value for money! After we checked out we stayed in the little breakfast room to have something to eat and drink before we left :) was very lovely

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016

This place is warm (maybe a bit too warm in our room for me...) and cheerful. We stayed 1 night and found it to be just what we were looking for. Something eclectic, not your usual cookie cutter hotel. May not be for everyone but as long as the place is clean we're happy enough.

The room we had had 2 doubles - the placement of the beds made it a bit awkward for getting directly to the bathroom - you had to squeeze through an opening where the 2 corners of the beds met. Bed was comfortable. We had a good sleep - didn't notice any noises during the night.

The guest house is decorated with art - everywhere! - I didn't go past our 1st floor but our daughter said it was upstairs as well (she went exploring).

Check in was easy and staff was very polite and efficient. Overall, it's a great place to stay if you want something different and easy on the budget. Great location, near tons of restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews