We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Group Party”
Review of Turf Lounge

Turf Lounge
Ranked #1,276 of 8,641 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Description: Turf Lounge is Bay Street's most upscale sports bar and restaurant. It is also the ideal venue for meetings, private dining and events. The compelling dining room is offset by the sleek and modern decor of an impressive and airy bar with high vaulted ceilings and an Art Deco-era bank facade, creating a memorable destination for lunch, dinner, and after-work cocktails. Turf also offers two elegant private rooms which provide a cool yet sophisticated atmosphere perfect for your next corporate or social event.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Group Party”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I took a group of co-worked to Turf Lounge last weekend for a post-meeting dinner and we all really enjoyed our evening. I had a lot of previous requests, and I was mostly very impressed with the customer service provided--they were very accommodating (which many other restaurants in the area were not).

Overall, fantastic customer service, nice environment, good food. Great evening out and we received nice comments from everyone at the table about the venue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Late Night Private Party”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I held an informal post-wedding 'after-party' in lieu of a formal sit-down wedding reception. We selected Turf Lounge as our venue and could not be happier with our decision. From initial contact, to planning, to final execution, the staff here were incredibly friendly and eager to impress.

Our initial vision for the event was a cocktail reception and dance, but it turned into more of a lounge event. This was fine by us, as it gave us an opportunity to actually speak with our guests. We used the bar area and part of the dining space, and it was maybe slightly too large for our group of about 50 guests. We didn't do anything to decorate, and, trust me, we were right not to. The architecture and high ceilings in the bar are impressive on their own. The bar light fixture can be customized to run through different colours, which we enjoyed.

The venue provided us with a playlist of music, so we didn't even need to hire a DJ. They also created a custom cocktail for our event based on one of our wedding colours. We were able to sample food before the event and were ultimately happy with what was offered. One of the best parts of holding the event at an actual bar, as opposed to a traditional wedding venue, was the range of liquors and drought beers available to us. We initially set a limit for which we were willing to spend, and the venue staff were very accommodating- the tab was to be on us until the pre-tax spend hit an amount determined by us, and it would convert to a cash bar thereafter. We also were able to restrict which liquors would be available but decided to do away with this toward the end of the night.

Overall, we had a great time and would not hesitate to book another event at Turf.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dharsh109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Project Completion Celebration”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Turf's convenient location and horse betting option made for a fun venue for our small-group corporate event. Service was excellent and our private function room was exactly what we needed. Arranging the event was also hassle-free with the help of Turf's event managers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nylron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meetings”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked one of the boardrooms for a few hours and the service and snacks we had was fantastic. The environment at Turf Lounge and decor are great for corporate meetings, drinks and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great finale to a book reading at Ben McNally's Books”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Eight of us dropped in for celebratory drinks and appies . Great food- calamari, mini burgers, pizza. Courteous and VERY attentive service.



Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank QR8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Lounge also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Turf Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing