We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food is served VERY LATE”

The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,657 of 8,641 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Transit: Both Union Station and King Station service The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc. If using the Trolley, exit at the King/Church St. stop and walk south 1 block.
Description: Nestled in the heart of downtown Toronto's St. Lawrence Market Neighbourhood, you dine on plush divans under lantern lit tent. Rich French - Moroccan food and belly dancing performances combine to make your next special event extra special. The Sultan's Tent offers a variety of different seating opportunities throughout the week each with its own belly dance performance. While dining in The Sultan's Tent you choose from our fabulous four-course dinner menu that offers French-Moroccan influenced food to meet the most discerning palate. For a more casual ala carte dining experience, join us in Cafe Moroc. Situated at the entrance to The Sultan's Tent, Cafe Moroc is reminiscent of 1930s Casablanca with its cream colours, dark wood accents and giant palms. Groups of all sizes are welcome in both areas of our restaurant.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“food is served VERY LATE”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Been here twice. Both times our reservations were pushed back. The show is just OK. After you order you always have to wait at least an hour for your food to arrive. The quality of food is just OK. Wouldn't go back

Helpful?
2 Thank lubthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    170
    97
    70
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went with some friends for a girl’s night out. The menu was a 4-course meal. The price seemed reasonable...$39.95 but then when you looked at the fine print many things are an extra surcharge so your meal can easily become $50 or $60. The wait staff was very attentive and the dancers were good. They even got us up dancing with them showing us belly dancing basics. Would be nice if there was more than 2 for the whole restaurant.
Was a very unique evening. Would do it again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rands23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food VERY dissappointing”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The atmosphere is great, the service very good BUT the food truly failed. The fixed price menu had good selection but the quality was truly sub-standard. The soup was so heavily laden with flour to thicken it was like eating paper mache paste (and tasetless). I ordered your safest main - steak (can't remember if it was the strip sirloin or a NY strip). I ordered it rare and it came medium well. I did not send it back as I was entertaining clients and did not want to appear pompous. They did not say a word about their food (which is never a good sign). The belly dancers was good entertainment however, only one truly did a belly dance. The other one - sorry to say, look more like a flirtatious attempt at the guests. I really wanted to like this place because I love restaurants with theme...but theme is not enough. Will never return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerrygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere to celebrate with friends”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews posted prior to going and was waiting to make up my mind on this place. Service was excellent and they went the extra mile to make us comfortable and extend our stay after our seating time as a group in the bar. The dancers were good, but think a few more would have been more entertaining - they were great though and had patrons joining them. The food while good wasn't excellent, but this is what I've come to expect when they are trying to move through a show atmosphere and pairing it with a restaurant. It was a fairly set menu, four course meal, ending with deserts that were delicious. Our group tried different things, and there were pluses and minuses throughout the course choices, so that being said you will have hits and misses but I think a fun time if you go with friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank WhitbyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worst Food Ever”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went with about 25 people for a birthday party. The menu was a 4-course meal...there were options within that but you could not order a-la-carte and I do not eat that much.

The price seemed reasonable...$39.95 but then when you looked at the fine print almost everything was an extra 11.95-19.95 per item (on top of the $40).

To top it off there was a service fee of $35 on our bill for the 'show' that was basically one girl dancing in front of us for 45 seconds.

The food was bland...although it had Moroccan ingredients, it sure was NOT Moroccan food.

With 2 drinks and dinner our bill came to $158.
Biggest scam ever...DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc also viewed

 

Been to The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing