We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan with a twist”

The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,735 of 8,648 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Transit: Both Union Station and King Station service The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc. If using the Trolley, exit at the King/Church St. stop and walk south 1 block.
Description: Nestled in the heart of downtown Toronto's St. Lawrence Market Neighbourhood, you dine on plush divans under lantern lit tent. Rich French - Moroccan food and belly dancing performances combine to make your next special event extra special. The Sultan's Tent offers a variety of different seating opportunities throughout the week each with its own belly dance performance. While dining in The Sultan's Tent you choose from our fabulous four-course dinner menu that offers French-Moroccan influenced food to meet the most discerning palate. For a more casual ala carte dining experience, join us in Cafe Moroc. Situated at the entrance to The Sultan's Tent, Cafe Moroc is reminiscent of 1930s Casablanca with its cream colours, dark wood accents and giant palms. Groups of all sizes are welcome in both areas of our restaurant.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moroccan with a twist”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Unique decor and the belly dancing show cleverly complements the four course moroccan dinner. Slightly pricy. Not overly spicy.
The Sultan's Tent is not your run of the mill restaurant. Dress up for a fun evening out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    170
    98
    70
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tobago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pouring of the Moroccan tea”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is fantastic. Do ask for one of the tents, you'll immediately feel like you're in Morroco. Reservations needed. While dining you'll be graced with some good belly dancing at specific times. Try it! ..then watch your waiter skillfully pour your tea. Great food, great ambience, great vibes

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxisugalisious S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A unique and tasty dining experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I took my out of town relatives to The Sultan's Tent for dinner to give them a taste of something different. The restaurant was very busy but any concerns with potentially slow service were quickly quashed when our server promptly attended us, expertly made suggestions for each of the four courses and our drinks and first course arrived within minutes. An added treat was the belly dancers - some diners joined in the fun, including my niece, which made for a really fun night. The champagne with pomegranate makes for a refreshing cocktail. It is possible to keep within $40/diner for four courses - which is a substantial amount of food, however, several at our table opted for dishes outside the fixed menu and were very pleased and great for sharing. The winners: first course - beef bourguignon, second course - fried goat cheese, third course - lamb shank and the pistachio creme brulee for dessert accompanied by the Moroccan mint tea. Try it the next time you have a special occasion or relatives to impress!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muggette60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Great place. Love the decor. Very friendly helpful staff. Great food and awesome martins. I have only ate in the front part. I believe that is the cafe moroc. Always one of my favourite places to visit when in Toronto.makes me feel like iam entering a different country when I enter the cafe moroc. Pretty little candles on tables and teak wood.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Endearing”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant should be noted for its welcoming and personable staff and its entertaining and party like atmosphere, Moroccan decor and music. The website is very inviting. One caution patrons should be aware that although it advertises a set four course meal for $39.95 everycourse it seemed from appetizers to dessert had enhancement which added on prices. The food was good to very good but not exceptional and I think the shared opinion of our group was that this should still be on eveyone's list for a genuinely fun evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc also viewed

 

Been to The Sultan's Tent & Cafe Moroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing