We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Excellent Excellent”

The Monkey Bar & Grill
Ranked #541 of 8,576 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North End
Description: Now in its sixteenth year, The Monkey Bar continues to be praised by patrons and critics alike. Proprietor and classically-trained chef Richard Fox-Revett, formerly of Centro, Splendido and The Four Seasons Yorkville, offers a menu that is a flavourful fusion of Canadian, Italian, French and Asian influences, and includes seafood, game and vegetarian dishes. The atmosphere is inviting and the service is impeccable. Enjoy a pre-dinner drink from our martini menu, or a selection from our broad list of premium vodka and single malt scotch. An extensive wine list, featuring new and old world wines by the glass, half litre and bottle, complements your dining experience. In addition, all our desserts are made in-house. We even provide a children’s menu for the little ones. Our full menu is also available for takeout. The Monkey Bar offers upscale cuisine at affordable prices, all just steps from your front door. Come rediscover North Toronto’s favourite neighbourhood restaurant.
1 review
“Excellent Excellent Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner at Monkey Bar last night. We are all foodies and have dined across Africa Europe and the USA.
This is simply great food. Richard (chef and owner) is very creative and will delight your pallet. Had the romain salad, outstanding, the veal chop was tender and delicious followed by the apple strudel which was the best I've had anywhere.
The portions are generous and the price was very good. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ftjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
You are very kind! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“monkey man...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Expertly prepared, honest good food has stood the test of time, especially in this very competitive and fastidious neighborhood. Chef Richard Fox-Revett's family owned and operated little gem is a place I am proud to be a patron. In a time of pertinacious TV celebrity executive chefs that are often too cool for school, this man still helps polish cutlery after dinner service...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank senninha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
How nice! Thank you for taking the time to post your favourable review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend introduced me to this restaurant years ago. I love the updated décor. The food is always prepared with extra care. I like to try vegetarian dishes and their tofu / lentil / veggie dish is a delight to the palate. Lots of food - I never go home hungry! Appears to be family owned and I found the service to be attentive. Water glass filled regularly without asking and the food was served quickly but I never felt rushed. I have tried many dishes over the years and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthAnn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Poor sevice attitude / good food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Tonight a group of my friends (5) who have been meeting at my house in this neighbourhood and going out for dinner 4-5 times a year went to this restaurant tonight .The food was wonderful however the service was lacking with a very surly unsmiling waitress. When she was asked about how the veal was prepared she replied " on a plate with no breading."
She never smiled and when one of the party asked for more bread she put it at the end of the from the person who had asked for it. When we left we asked if she could take a picture of our group because it was our last outing together in this area. I turned around to see the chef and other waitress/bartender making derogatory faces at us. We are all women in our 60's and have frequented many other restaurants in this area over the last 20 years. My message to the owners is " your food is great, your service stinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbuller471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Oh dear. That doesn't sound like us at all. Your server indeed sounds surly and I'm sorry. I can't imagine what could have gotten in to her. But, as for the chef and other waitress making derogatory faces, I just can't picture that at all. The chef is also the owner and I can pretty much guarantee that on a Thursday night in April, we are all very grateful for your patronage. Please give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food creative and delicious”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I frequent the restaurant as often as I can. The chef is very accommodating to particular requests. His chickpea crusted shrimp is delicious and the veal chop is probably the best in the city. For desert a must is the apple strudel and or warm bananas. All in all a great culinary experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertjill1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa F, Owner at The Monkey Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much! Your kind words mean a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Monkey Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing