We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - arrogant service”
Review of Terroni

Terroni
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #321 of 10,305 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $1 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Toronto
Cross street: Queen and Bathurst
Transit: Queen and Claremont
Reviewed May 27, 2019

This is a decent Italian restaurant which refuses to cater to its customers by providing parmesan cheese with some dishes, when requested, as well as refusing to provide balsamic vinegar with the pre meal bread. I don't understand why the owners are so set in their way in this regard and why they refuse to satisfy the wishes of the customer. I like Terroni - the food is good - but there are lots of good pasta and pizza restaurants in Toronto that will go out of their way to satisfy the customer so I'd choose to go elsewhere.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allanwexler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 590 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Was very disappointed . Lasagna special was tasteless ,burnt and grey looking. They don’t serve Diet Coke which was a problem for the diabetic in our group. They don’t provide balsamic to go with the bread and olive oil, and they don’t bring Parmesan to the table either. The wait staff had an attitude problem and our group was made to feel quite unwelcome.
With so many choices in the area You can be sure we will not be returning. Was very disappointed, especially for a restaurant with these prices.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Brucie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Delicious pasta, great wine and nice staff! Loved it here. Actually walked in and out cause I first wanted takeout and eat in the park when it started raining. They gave me a seat at the bar and took great care of me!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank cailaoostdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019

Visited Terroni twice in the last two weeks with friends. Staff are aloof and unfriendly - like they have an attitude problem or they hate their job. Food was mediocre. Lasagna (yesterday's special) was dried out and looked very unappealing. It was returned and replaced with a meal sauce pasta that looked better but was honestly, just okay. Pizza is a better choice than Pasta. Real issue is with staff attitude - when asked if they had any balsamic vinegar to accompany the bread and olive oil for dipping the answer was - "We don't serve that." When asked if they had any parmesan cheese the answer was "That is considered a condiment and no, we don't have that either." Terroni is busy but there are so many great places to go on Queen West - with servers who are actually interested in serving. The whole experience gave us the impression that staff were actually doing us a favour by serving us and moreover that the restaurant is too cheap to provide a thimble of balsamic vinegar and a shake of parmesan cheese. Don't be so cheap and by the way...change your attitude.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank krwToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

Sat down at a table for two alongside other tables for two but were so close together you hade to physically move the talbe for people to get in and out of the bench seat. I oredred a pasta with the spicy Italian sausage but it was anything but spicy, more like ground pork. The music pumping in was an urban beat, not fitting of the restaurant. There are large mirrors on the wall and a dust ball coming of one near my wife's head, not sure how they clean behind them but if you have ever taken a picture of the wall that has been there for a while you will understand what I mean. It is not all negative, the homemade pasta was excellent and the beside the dustball the resturant and bathrooms were very clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Not enough here to make me return soon.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pkneary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terroni also viewed

 

Been to Terroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing