We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!!!!”
Review of Swatow Restaurant

Swatow Restaurant
Ranked #307 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food!!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Don't expect Swatow to be a fancy restaurant cause it's not but DO expect the food to be exceptional! This place is a family favorite, the food is delicious, the customer service is great and it's a great friendly atmosphere. I'm going back tonight!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KailaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    74
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
427 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,678 helpful votes
“Hit me baby, one more time!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Swatow was recommended by someone in China town as a decent traditional restaurant. It was okay, but I wouldn’t go back. The server/maître d was, of course, Chinese, and his approach was more aggressive than a pit bull. He dropped off the long menus and hovered over the table expecting us to order immediately. He answered questions with the finesse of a street fighter, bellowing his voice with a strong Chinese accent as if volume helped folks understand. He made us uncomfortable. I managed to get him to leave us alone for a couple of minutes but then he was back, pen and paper in hand, ready to take our order faster than speedy Gonzalez.

The food was delivered by someone else who must have forgotten that he was serving food to people not to cattle. Everything was dumped on the table without regard to the person who ordered it. No grace. No nothing.

The chicken with cashew nuts and lo mein (in this case, Shanghai noodles) were pretty good, but the chicken in black bean sauce and beef with vegetables had way too much corn starch and were thick and pasty. The bill was average, but it depleted my wallet when I learned that the restaurant only accepted cash. Might have been nice to put that in the menu and post it more visibly on the wall.

All in all, I wasn’t impressed. There are a million Chinese restaurants out there, and this wasn’t anything more special than a Chinese fast food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese Food”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had a great lunch at this restaurant in Chinatown. Nice menu selection at very reasonable prices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Toribean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The food was so-so nothing out of the ordinary...”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The food was average, the atmosphere is not very comfy or clean.

If you are looking for a very good shrimp wonton soup w/ noodle, I will highly recommend Jim Chai Kee Noodle at 270 West Beaver Creek Rd Unit 18 Richmond Hill, they make the shrimp wontons and fresh fish balls everyday, so fresh, so tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 155019Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant in the Toronto area.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've been going to this restaurant for the past 25 years, great service and staff. Can't really complain when the food arrived at your table within 5 minutes no matter how busy they are. But the best thing is their food, prices are reasonably low and the food is fantastic, I can't think of 1 dish I would say was OK, it's all mouth watering good.

The only downside is their bathroom but what do you expect in downtown Toronto Chinatown.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_HLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swatow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Swatow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing