We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi”
Review of Sushi On Bloor

Sushi On Bloor
Ranked #849 of 8,473 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Etobicoke
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sushi”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I didn't know how to rate this restaurant. I'd go back, even though I rated it three stars. I haven't eaten at worse sushi places but I have eaten at better. The food decent. The service was good but not charming. It's a plain place and if I had one criticism it would be the washroom. Have a lock on it. I mean, the men's toilet has a urinal and a toilet with no door and a half wall. Apparently, this is not the case in the woman's washroom. So guys, don't worry about your woamn. But if you need to do a number two, it's not the place to do for you. I've been here a few times before, as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darko. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    30
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our 'Go-To' Place”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is our go-to place for consistently decent, inexpensive sushi in a fast paced, high energy but not rushed atmosphere. Be prepared for a crowd and, possibly, some impatient onlookers waiting in line. Service has always been pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTrio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Satisfying Sushi”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

On a strip of Bloor Street that is chock o block with sushi joints, Sushi on Bloor is the best for both quality and price.
Their Bento boxes come with generous portions - frankly almost too much for one person. Sushi is always fresh with good quality ginger on the side.
While I find the calamari underwhelming, the appetizer of grilled octopus in ginger sauce is a steal at five bucks.
Decor is bare bones. Always packed with crowds ranging from nearby university students to middles aged couples out on lunch dates.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlairYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do the lunch buffet”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hard to say anything bad about all-you-can-eat sushi, especially when it's only around $13. Not the best sushi I've had but still very decent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good and inexpensive”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I agree with all the other reviewers - not the best sushi I've ever had, but very good - and very reasonably priced! Often packed, and it's not the best atmosphere - but clean and bright - and the service is very efficient and friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrASToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi On Bloor also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Sushi On Bloor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing