We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian restaurant in T.O.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spuntini Restaurant & Cafe - CLOSED

Spuntini Restaurant & Cafe
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in T.O.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have dined here now 3 times over 2 years while visiting Toronto from the 'burbs. One of the best dining experiences you'll enjoy anywhere! Always busy, noisy as in family-style Italian dining, extensive menu that will satisfy everyone's tastes, and a choice location for visiting celebrities. Wish I had discovered it during the 27 yrs. I lived in the city! Every guest is treated as valuably as the next. Avenue Rd. just N. of Bloor, easy walk from mid-town hotels, Yorkville, ROM, designer boutiques etc. and as a former Torontonian, my #1 choice in the city.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bfischer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    16
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, but once is enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spuntini is one of those restaurants located in an area that, in most cases, believes that the art on a dish is more important than the quality of the dish itself.
Luckily, Spuntini, dimly lit, a bit tight and pretentious, believes in decent portions at decent prices. It also believes in exceptional service.
The carpaccio di manzo, thinly sliced aged beef tenderloin with wild arugula was delicious as was the stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon in a cream sauce. Great stuff! The wine selection is spectacular with racks and rows of vino everywhere inside.
The only down side was the halibut. Big portion yet bland and dry. Unfortunate considering the reputation this restaurant has and where it's located. The clientele here settle only for perfection each time around. The halibut could have been better. Great experience but there are plenty of other restos in this city, will try them first before coming back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner at this restaurant last night. While it was a very pleasant evening, it certainly doesn't rank amongst the best places I have eaten. The place is too crowded, quite loud and the food is good but not great. The service was the best part of the experience. They appear to do two sittings. We were at the earlier one and the later on, scheduled at nine appeared to be quite behind schedule. We left at 9:20 and there were a lot of people waiting to be seated

Helpful?
Thank JR12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The food is good and the price is right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Service was excellent and they made every effort to be flexible with a last minute reservation on a very busy night. The food was good and priced well. The ambiance was enjoyable and music subdued but pleasant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Siby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went for dinner with my wife on Saturday night around 8pm without a reservation. Restaurnat GM Peter asked us to wait a few minutes and he would try to find us a table. Within less than two minutes he was back and seated us. I ordered the Penne a la Vodka and my wife had the Trancia Di Salmone. When the entrees arrived they were prompt and both steaming hot! The Italian cured bacon in the penne was fantastic and complimented the rose sauce and the salmon was prepared beautifully. After the entree I was stuffed but we split a dessert "creme brulee" and it was also great. Looking at past reviews yes it is a bit crowded but that is the sign of a good restaurant, when you have too much space in a restaurant that is when you should be worried. The atmosphere was nice and the level of service we received from our server and the remainder of the waitstaff working together topping up glasses and picking up plates was what I would expect from a top notch restaurant, and this is what I received at Spuntini. I will certainly go back and truly appreciate servers and managers who have been trained well. Great Job Spuntini, we will see you again soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AVKleinburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spuntini Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing