We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but not great”
Review of Spuntini Restaurant & Cafe - CLOSED

Spuntini Restaurant & Cafe
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good but not great”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner at this restaurant last night. While it was a very pleasant evening, it certainly doesn't rank amongst the best places I have eaten. The place is too crowded, quite loud and the food is good but not great. The service was the best part of the experience. They appear to do two sittings. We were at the earlier one and the later on, scheduled at nine appeared to be quite behind schedule. We left at 9:20 and there were a lot of people waiting to be seated

Helpful?
Thank JR12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    16
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The food is good and the price is right”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Service was excellent and they made every effort to be flexible with a last minute reservation on a very busy night. The food was good and priced well. The ambiance was enjoyable and music subdued but pleasant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Siby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went for dinner with my wife on Saturday night around 8pm without a reservation. Restaurnat GM Peter asked us to wait a few minutes and he would try to find us a table. Within less than two minutes he was back and seated us. I ordered the Penne a la Vodka and my wife had the Trancia Di Salmone. When the entrees arrived they were prompt and both steaming hot! The Italian cured bacon in the penne was fantastic and complimented the rose sauce and the salmon was prepared beautifully. After the entree I was stuffed but we split a dessert "creme brulee" and it was also great. Looking at past reviews yes it is a bit crowded but that is the sign of a good restaurant, when you have too much space in a restaurant that is when you should be worried. The atmosphere was nice and the level of service we received from our server and the remainder of the waitstaff working together topping up glasses and picking up plates was what I would expect from a top notch restaurant, and this is what I received at Spuntini. I will certainly go back and truly appreciate servers and managers who have been trained well. Great Job Spuntini, we will see you again soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AVKleinburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All around great restaurant!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great restaurant with amazing food and an endless wine list. We had a group of six (2 seniors, 2 adults, a teenager, and a child) and everyone found something they thoroughly enjoyed. Everyone in the grouped raved about their dinner. ;)
Great service, ambiance, and wine suggestions.
We had the four cheese pizza as an appetizer, a variety of salads, and several pastas. All were super yummy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“A Great little Restaurant in Yorkville”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had a wonderful couples dinner at Spuntini! We a short wait for our table (with reservations), but it is a small(er) busy restaurant in Yorkville. The staff is wonderful - they take great care of you throughout your dining experience and make you feel like a valued guest. The menu offerings had something for everyone. A relaxed casual atmosphere.... will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drummerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spuntini Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing