We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ambiance was great and food was good too...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Accent

Southern Accent
Ranked #247 of 8,405 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The ambiance was great and food was good too...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was my first time in this restaurant and took advantage of the Summerlicious promo. Had the Green sala, Seafood pasta and the Pavlova for desert. The food was good. I enjoyed the atmosphere the most. We sat outside in the patio and the ambiance was great and fun.
Will dine in here again in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Cruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAccent595, Owner at Southern Accent, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us Joe! The patio is great when our Canadian weather permits it:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    49
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our first time here and when we first walked in, we were not quite sure what to make of it.
The atmosphere and decor while pleasant, is unusual. Nonetheless the staff were friendly and helpful.

For Appetizers, we had the chicken liver served with home made garlic bread . The presentation was conventional, but the dish was surprisingly flavorful. Even if you don't often eat liver, these are definitely worth a try. 8.5/10.

The Mains we ordered were the Lamb Chops and the Catfish. Everything was excellent about the lamb chops . The blackened spices and the Apricot sauce was excellent. The chops were cooked perfectly as we requested, medium rare. 8.5/10.

The catfish however was a disappointment. Overcooked, dry and bland, not a lot positives here. 4/10

For dessert, we shared the bread pudding. This was homemade with chunks of apples, raisins served in a sweet bourbon sauce. This has to be one of the best desserts I've had in quite a while. 9/10

Overall, Southern accent is highly recommended, if you stay with their signature dishes. Excellent service to go along with their food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CNG700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAccent595, Owner at Southern Accent, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Sorry to hear that the catfish wasn't to your liking! I'll make sure to pass your feedback along to our chef to see what we can do to improve. Thanks for taking the time to post your review - especially the pics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent take-out experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Long story, but we've had take-out from Southern Accent twice and it's been amazing. The first time family from out of town wanted to make our lives easier after child birth and grabbed a bunch of seafood, ribs, pasta and sides. OMG it was just what we needed and so delicious!

We tried to go to the restaurant in July but it was booked solid because of summerlicious.

Looking forward to experiencing this place in person soon!

P.S. Gave Very Good marks for service etc. that we haven't experienced because based on the rest of our experience it's only fair.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAccent595, Owner at Southern Accent, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Summerlicious is always very hectic for us, so I'm glad we were able to accommodate you with take-out! Hope to see you for a dine-in experience soon. We have our special BBQ menu on now until Sept. 2nd if you want to try something smoked in out Big Green Egg BBQ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went for dinner last night and thoroughly enjoyed it! One of us is a vegan and there were some choices for her. Ask for Wendy - one of the best servers I've ever had. The blackened chicken livers - don't miss. BBQ - again, don't miss.
PLUS the deserts are great too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cathyandcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAccent595, Owner at Southern Accent, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for the positive review! Since you liked the BBQ, thought I should mention that have a special BBQ menu on now until Sept. 2nd with some special items. Hope we'll see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I went to Southern Accent because they were participating in Summerlicious, but even though I ordered from a special menu, all of the items I ordered are available a la carte year-round as well.
The food was excellent. I am not adventurous when it comes to trying new cuisines, but I had no problem finding menu items that seemed safe. The salad was fresh and dressed perfectly, the BBQ plate was seasoned and cooked so well that the beef crumbled right off the bone. The dessert, an apple pandowdy (which is basically a re-arranged pie) was served hot with a scoop of cold iced cream on top, and made me wish for more.
The décor of Southern Accent is lovely, and although it seems folksy at a glance, it is a warm and comfortable place to eat. The service was excellent; our server was attentive and helpful.
Really the only qualm about this place is the price, which is higher than I would be able to afford on a weekly (or perhaps even monthly) basis. The average entrée costs just under $20, and appetizers, desserts, and drinks cost even more.
If you are able to afford eating here, I definitely recommend you do so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAccent595, Owner at Southern Accent, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for checking us out! Glad to hear that your experience was a positive one, and we hope you'll come back again soon. If price is a concern, we do have half-priced appetizers Sundays through Thursdays from 5-6:30pm (note that we are not open on Mondays), and Saturday/Sunday from 3-6pm, as well as $5 drink specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Accent also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Southern Accent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing