We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful as always”

Scaramouche Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Scaramouche Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $46 - $57
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Edmund and Avenue Road (see map)
Description: Scaramouche has long been celebrated by customers and critics for its unwavering commitment to making each dining experience a memorable one. Chef/owner Keith Froggett's sophisticated cuisine is presented simply with care and attention to detail. The service underscores that philosophy: unobtrusive and respectful. The restaurant affords a stunning nighttime vista of the downtown Toronto skyline. These components and more make Scaramouche the singular destination it is. And the reason that the restaurant is consistently ranked as one of the city's best for more than three decades.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Went 2 weeks ago during the deep freeze - valet parking when it is minus 20-something is always nice!

We were seated next to the window - the view is spectacular, unexpected to feel like you are overlooking the city when you are essentially in a condo basement.

Luckily, for the most part the food matches the view, which isn't always the case. It was "Lobsterlicious", the soft lobster spring rolls as a starter were wonderful. I carried on with an elegantly presented salad, and my guest had the lobster themed items for dinner, which he raved about. I had mushroom pasta which was ok, not the best, although I use Noces mushroom pasta (the best!) as my yardstick and nothing in the city compares IMO

Dessert was wonderful - coconut cream pie and lemon tart, well worth the assumed calorie splurge. Wine list is extensive and the cocktail our server recommended was fantastic. Every dish is wonderfully presented and in portions not too small or large.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraUrban905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    172
    58
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant By Far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Upscale and expensive but worth it! Could only get reservation same nite we arrived was to go online. staff was professional and polite - not stuffy. restaurant very clean and very appealing decor. lots of tables. Quiet. Food was amazing - every course was a work of art and could not taste better! The grilled calamari and venison rib eye were exquisite!Excellent wine selection - prices varied. There were 3 of us and will definitely return the next time we are in Toronto!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amarasnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I wish we had better seating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I would come back here just for the salmon dish. It was delicious!! For the price of the menu, I was hoping we would get a scenic view. But it wasn't anything special, so we sort of doubted going here. There's valet parking, which is pretty awesome. The atmosphere is nice and romantic, and the layout is pretty nice too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Marvellous New Year Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

A perennial favorite dining spot that keeps us coming back with it's wonderful food and low key surroundings. The meals were outstanding as always but the new mango / vanilla cake takes the prize for mouth watering 'never had anything like it' dessert.
Service is always predictably prompt, we'll timed and efficient. Even with a 10:00 PM second seating for new Year's (along with a gazillion others) we were seated in moments. Scarmouche remains solidly in our top 10 all time favourite restaurants. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild_Radek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Dinner Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The food was delicious, there was an amazing view of Toronto, and the service was great. I definitely recommend the gnocchi appetizer and the lamb!

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura19456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scaramouche Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Scaramouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing