We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of disappointing”
Review of Sassafraz

Sassafraz
Ranked #142 of 9,074 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Bloor and Bay Streets
Transit: Bay Subway Station
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have tried Sassafraz to find a nice place to recommend for our hotel guests with high expectations and of course, for ourselves to enjoy a nice dinner. Summerlicious seemed to be a fantastic choice to test different restaurants. The location and interior is very nice, but not fine dining as expected. Unfortunately, two of or plates had stains and we had 4 different servers during our dinner. No water top up, my husband got served first- the service itself was not very authentic and not courteous… no big issues, but in total not the best dining experience. The food was okay, but not worth the price. If you compare the (usual) price you pay for what you get (especially the service), Sassafraz would not be a restaurant to recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaniundManuontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. We will definitely revisit our core values of professionalism and caring with our team. Could you please email your contact details to info@sassafraz.ca as well? We'd really like to speak to you further about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 443 of 640 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great venue, great service but the food is certainly nothing to write home about. We had gazpacho and then cod. Neither of which were amazing (which they should have been for the price). I had cheese for pudding and that was good (but pricey).

We sat outside which was nice, and luckily I had very nice company otherwise I would have been miffed!

In fairness, there is one other 'great' and that is that inside there are two seater sofas at some of the tables - nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that our venue and service were great. We're looking into our recipes for the gazpacho and the cod to see why they weren't at their best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We strolled into Sassafraz after a prolonged cab ride into Toronto from the airport, due to the horrible traffic caused by a Taylor Swift concert in town. It was about 12:30 am, and the restaurant was almost empty. We went up to the bar and asked if they would serve us, the bartender, Amanda, said of course! and from then on, it was great. Her drinks were amazing, coupled with her personality, made us feel so welcome!
We had returned the next night for dinner before going out, and had the same welcoming hospitality from the wait staff to the manager.
Highly recommended if you are to visit Toronto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thanks so much for the comment. We’ll be sure to give Amanda and the rest of the team a pat on the back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a fabulous restaurant with a wonderfu location, great people-watching and delicious food! I loved this area of town and Sassafraz is right in the heart of it all.

Thank Cookie2008_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for the compliments! We'd like to think our love of the neighbourhood is why we put so much heart into what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a fantastic meal here!!! We sat in the cafe and our waitress was Amanda. I explained my food intolerances and she went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect...and it was. I had the game hen, with quinoa and vegetables. My husband had the duck and really enjoyed it. I have to really give a big shout out for Amanda, she mad our night excellent. If the owner or manager reads this we are really interested in the story behind the photos in the restaurant.

2  Thank sgeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you! We’ll make sure we recognize Amanda and the team for their effort. Please email us at info@sassafraz.ca with your contact information. We’d love to share the story behind the photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassafraz also viewed

 

Been to Sassafraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing