We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great spot during the day or at night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sassafraz

Sassafraz
Reserve with OpenTable
Sassafraz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 8,409 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Bloor and Bay Streets
Transit: Bay Subway Station
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great spot during the day or at night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a fabulous restaurant with a wonderfu location, great people-watching and delicious food! I loved this area of town and Sassafraz is right in the heart of it all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cookie2008_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the compliments! We'd like to think our love of the neighbourhood is why we put so much heart into what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    186
    74
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a fantastic meal here!!! We sat in the cafe and our waitress was Amanda. I explained my food intolerances and she went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect...and it was. I had the game hen, with quinoa and vegetables. My husband had the duck and really enjoyed it. I have to really give a big shout out for Amanda, she mad our night excellent. If the owner or manager reads this we are really interested in the story behind the photos in the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sgeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you! We’ll make sure we recognize Amanda and the team for their effort. Please email us at info@sassafraz.ca with your contact information. We’d love to share the story behind the photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant and Location But Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The décor at Sassafraz is amazing and the restaurant is centrally located in the heart of Yorkville. The ambiance is great, especially under the skylight by the waterfall. Service was adequate but the food was a bit of a disappointment. We were there for brunch and ordered the Eggs Benedict but the eggs were very overcooked and hard. Having said that, the manager was very apologetic about the meal and offered us free desserts. I would go back perhaps for dinner as the location and ambiance are unbeatable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OakvilleGirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We’re glad that our manager was able to apologize and provide you with some dessert but we just want you to know that we’re looking into where we fell short on the Eggs Benedict.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We go here every time we are in Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. The menu is small but the food is excellent. We go in a group of 5 to 12 people and we always have the cheese platter at lunch time. The cheeses are to die for, that with a nice salad and a glass of wine!! Service has always been wonderful and wine selection is really good. We have also had dinner here and no complaints, ever. We have teens in our group and vegetarians so there is something for everyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We love to hear this! We aim to please with our cheese platter and we’re so glad to know it’s working.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“mediocre food, bad crowd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The food was mediocre at best and both times I visited this restaurant, I couldn't help but notice that the people who like to go here are pompous airheads who think they have class! I prefer Café Bouloud at the Four Seasons.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Can you please email us at info@sassafraz.ca? We’d love to know how we can improve on the meals you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassafraz also viewed

 

Been to Sassafraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing