We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best seafood place in Chinatown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rol Jui Seafood Restaurant

Rol Jui Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #4,868 of 8,409 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
philippines
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best seafood place in Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I met some friends who are familiar with Chinatown. They knew how to order, what to order and the price of the order. She said 4 dishes and the waitress said 54. We had free soup, came chow mien seafood, steamed fish, lobster and eggplant with shrimp. The combination was good and the price was fixed.
You can see that the seafood was fresh. For 5 people, that was enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gladysdv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went there tonight for dinner based on Tripadvisor reviews, and was a little disappointed. Maybe we ordered the wrong dishes, but I found the chicken and corn soup a little less thrilling than I'm used to (though plenty of big chunks of chicken in it). The tofu and seafood hot pot had a ton of tofu and not as much seafood - I also found it a bit bland. We also tried the king mushroom and snow pea leaves, which was ok but again somewhat bland.
Service was super slow as the restaurant was fairly busy and only two waitresses were working.
The fresh lobster coming out of the kitchen to other tables looked pretty delicious, so maybe we should have tried that.
Prices were higher than at some other places we've been to for Chinese food, and I wouldn't say the quality was much better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drk2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
“Best customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I've eaten at Rol Jui alot of times and it has never disappointed me. They recently changed their decor with new tables,chairs, ceiling decorations , which makes the restaurant better looking than before. The foods good and the waitresses are friendly and some of the best customer service I've had. Lunchtime is also a great time to eat here because they've got a lot lunch specials to choose from and for a good price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tracey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have gone to the Rol Jui many times, as I live in the hood. Sometimes the nameless chef is replaced so I prefer to go in the weekend, when the quality is best. There are some dishes that they do best: lobster, salt and chilly seafood or squid, snowpea leaves, eggplant with shrimp and black bean sauce. Soups are pretty tasty too, as well as the noodle dishes. Avoid the Canadian-Chinese dishes: sweet and sour anything, chop suey. Furniture has been replaced, much classier now. You often see large groups of Chinese celebrating a banquet with fish, oysters, crab and such. Tip for visitors: you are supposed to share the dishes, not have a separate dish for each of you. European visitors MUST try the ginger and green onion lobster, two for $26, because lobster is unaffordable in the old continent, and it is really tasty. Ask for a fork for the lobster so you can dig all the meat out. Many friends from outside the neighbourhood raved about the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waltertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem and a Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Rol Jui is our favourite seafood restaurant in Chinatown. The decor is ... well, there really isn't any ... harsh florescent lighting, plastic table covers, walls mostly decorated with big handwritten menus in Cantonese and English, etc. But the food is excellent, prices are surprisingly low, and they often have a $25 lobster special with 2 small lobsters cooked any of several ways. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frelwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rol Jui Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rol Jui Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing