We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place - reasonable lunch”

Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #241 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Parliament
Description: Pure Spirits Oyster House and Grill located in the Historic Distillery District offers both indoor dining as well as patio dining where visitors can take in the beautiful Victorian Industrial Architecture. We are well known as the best fresh seafood restaurant in Toronto. Pure Spirits is proud to serve a selection of oysters from both the East and West coasts of Canada as well as unique offerings from abroad. Casual dining attire and a love of great food is required. Our friendly staff are trained to guide you through our extensive selction of local beers and wine that match perfectly with our menu. Whether on a schedule to visit the spa, the theatre or the local art galleries we are geared to get you out on time or offer a relaxing extended stay on the patio to enjoy the sites. Pure Spirits is a must visit spot in the City of Toronto.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place - reasonable lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located in the old distillery part of town this converted building is a nice place for a meal.
Gastro pub type food which was not bad, although a bit pricey for what was served. Good service and reasonable selection of food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    182
    64
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An OK Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was just not impressed with the meal. Don't bother with the Lobster Sub, I don't know what I was expecting, but that wasn't it. The Ravioli was good, but could have used a few more raviolis. The service was excellent, the price average $17-22, and the ambiance very good. We ate inside, but when the weather is good, outside would be the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visiting Toronto, we enjoyed the distillery district. We have heard about Pure Spirits Oyster House and stopped there for lunch. The place is amazing, we loved the decor. Service was very good.
The food also. Delicious oysters, mussels and fries for my husband. I was very pleased to have a vegetarian menu, very original and well prepared. We highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimdesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were waiting for friends to arrive for dinner at Mill Street and stopped into Pure Spirits Oyster Bar & Grill to get a drink. We sat down at the bar and ordered a few drinks and a salad to share. We were sitting in front of the women shucking oysters and started talking with her and she gave us oysters to try and then made us a plate of oysters no charge. We were only there for an hour but great food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good food and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate at Pure Spirits Oyster House late Sept 2013. Food was very good. Had the mussels for appetizer. Slightly overcooked but delicious. Also had the portabella, eggplant and goat cheese sandwich. We took our server's advice and only ordered one sandwich between us. With the mussels it was plenty for my husband and I. Service was very very good. I am on a mobility device and the staff didn't flinch. They did everything they could to make me comfortable and welcome. Definitely recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank llassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing