We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With just a bit more attention...”

Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #236 of 8,648 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Parliament
Description: Pure Spirits Oyster House and Grill located in the Historic Distillery District offers both indoor dining as well as patio dining where visitors can take in the beautiful Victorian Industrial Architecture. We are well known as the best fresh seafood restaurant in Toronto. Pure Spirits is proud to serve a selection of oysters from both the East and West coasts of Canada as well as unique offerings from abroad. Casual dining attire and a love of great food is required. Our friendly staff are trained to guide you through our extensive selction of local beers and wine that match perfectly with our menu. Whether on a schedule to visit the spa, the theatre or the local art galleries we are geared to get you out on time or offer a relaxing extended stay on the patio to enjoy the sites. Pure Spirits is a must visit spot in the City of Toronto.
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“With just a bit more attention...”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I needed some comfort on a cold and rainy day, and I decided to have lunch here event if it's a bit more expensive than my usual fare. The place is nice, and the service was courteous and quick. I had a clam chowder and a cod served over paella. Both were very good, I was just disappointed to feel that the main course ingredients varied to almost cold to very hot, as if badly heated in a microwave. It was a pity, since the taste was excellent. Good selection of wines, but I can't get on with the prices (here as well as in many other restaurants).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dilbert1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    192
    70
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The ambiance was perfect, waiters where friendly, professional and attentive.
Food was fresh, inventive, and tasteful. Some of the best selection of oysters I have seen in a while.There’s something for everyone, even those that don't like seafood. You should also try the sake selection.
Will be returning and highly recommend you go!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gene747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We dined at Pure Spirits last night with another couple. The food is absolutely amazing! Very knowledgable server who really knew her dishes! She selected both my appetizer (Chinese Black Bean mussels - AMAZING garlicy goodness!) and my main (Nova Scotian Lobster Pappardelle - to die for!!). My husband dined on Blue Swimmer Crab Cake and a main of perfectly cooked Halibut. Our companions tried the Ahi Tuna Tartar, Oyster bar, Steak, and Paella. Everything was amazing! The atmosphere was the perfect vibe. We will certainly be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneLove1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Hostess is so rude!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We got in for a drink, the place is empty. My boyfriend ask the hostess if we can sit at the bar, but same time I say I'd prefer a table. The waiter asks if we were gonna have food, we say no. So she replies, with the snobbiest face: "so you're sitting at the bar". She could as well put the "honey" in the end of her phrase. The place is empty!! I wanted to leave, and couldn't be comfortable there until we finished our drinks. My boyfriend actually decided he could eat, but we decided to go somewhere else. Sorry, this text was supposed to be to the company's website, but couldnt find anywhere to complain, so trip advisor it is! In the hope the restaurants owner can see this review.

Helpful?
Thank Luiza_Sobral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Oysters”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good restaurant in a nice area. Great beer, wine and food - the oysters were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. I will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJAB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing