We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce & Cozy with "Plain" Food”
Review of Ouzerie

Ouzerie
Ranked #1,369 of 8,641 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East End
Cross street: Logan
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NIce & Cozy with "Plain" Food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The atmosphere is right, the ambiance is great, the location is also great.... But the food is blend...
We got to this restaurant after buying a discount "group on" coupon... After all the restaurant is located in "Greek Town"! This means in a major food area of town. The Vegetarian Moussaka, was plain... Very Plain. Lacks taste...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    49
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great grilled calamari!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose the 3 course fixed price menu at 25$. We both ordered the mezze as an appetizer, a mix of hummus, taramosalata etc. It came with a pile of fresh pita bread. Then we tried the calamari. The fried ones are good but the grilled ones are great. Some of the best we've had! They have wine by the glass starting at 6$ so quite reasonable. Our waiter John offered an excellent service. Efficient, friendly (but not too much) and very attentive. At one point I realised that I had no more knife and he brought one even before I mentioned it. At the end, we had baklava and baily's creme caramel and he offered extra ustensiles in case we wanted to share (which we did). We had a nice dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My friend's favourite in the city: Greek in Greektown”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ouzerie is great Greek food in the heart of Greektown, a.k.a. "The Danforth". This is my friend's favourite restaurant in the whole city and she celebrates her birthday there annually. I've been once and remember enjoying my meal. Nice, relaxed atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maeve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad experience at Ouezeri on the Danforth”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have dined at Ouezeri a number of times and recommended it to friends for a night out. Unfortunately our most recent dinner there will be our last! Appetizers arrived after a long wait, and our friends' calamari arrived a long while before our combo plate of dips. Then the wait began for our entrees. The waiter failed to remove the appetizer plates (which we placed on an empty adjacent table). We tried to catch the waiter's attention to inquire about our entrees but he and two other employees were chatting at the bar with their backs to the diners. Finally the waiter came and told us he'd check on our dinners. Three of the four dinners finally arrived but the fourth, Moussaka, was no where to be seen. We spoke with the manager who confirmed that Moussaka is pre-made and there should not have been a delay in serving it. When it was served and the delay was mentioned to the waiter he proceeded to make excuses and told us that "our drinks and dessert would be on the house . . ." Once we had finished our entrees we waited for the waiter to bring dessert menus, which never appeared. Instead the manager dropped the bill at our table; the drinks (two beers and sparkling water) had not been removed from the bill so we called over the manager who removed the bill and brought a corrected one - without a word about offering dessert. Credit cards were given to the manager and he returned without bringing a pen with which to sign the credit card forms! By that time we wanted out so we left the credit card forms on the table, without signatures and tips, and left. A very disappointing experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thornhillite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was fine. My children enjoyed the quails and I had the lamb kehbobs. They were very dry. The calamari were very good. The ambiance was extremely loud. I could not hear my husband speak to me. Overall it was a nice evening out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MenaTTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouzerie also viewed

 

Been to Ouzerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing