We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dear Oro: Time to step it up a notch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ORO Restaurant

ORO Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Bay Street
Transit: ORO is located just north of Dundas station on the Yonge subway line.
Description: Each day ORO's creative team pushes the boundaries of the culinary imagination with appetizers, entrees and desserts prepared neo-Italian style but subtly accented with hints from around the world. Add to this an award-winning wine list and it's no surprise ORO was selected one of Canada's Top 10 Restaurants by the Globe and Mail soon after its 1997 opening. Private rooms available for meeting/special occasions.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dear Oro: Time to step it up a notch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Oro is a nice place. It feels fancy, but not over-the-top. The menu is fine, but overall the flavours and selection, like the staff, have lost their excitement over the years. It is not as crowded as it used to be. The wait staff have been there a while and are business-like (not a lot of passion). The quality of the food is just average. Most of the desserts are over-priced for what you get. Who still serves cantaloupe and melon besides Denny's? If you want excitement, passion, flare, an edgy menu and good service, there are a huge list of other places to try. sorry Oro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beachseeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    59
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An escape in downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Smack dab in the middle of downtown, Oro Restaurant is a relaxing dining escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. Great atmosphere and service. Food is scrumptious! Perfect for a romantic evening, a nice dinner with friends and even a family dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faizazarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I have been several times to celebrate special occasions and recently to meet up with friends - amazing food and wine selection - atmosphere is cozy - especially in the winter by the fire place! Best part is the service - no one ever forgets that you've been there before - and they make you feel right at home - only I could never cook this good!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Business Meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a dinner meeting at Oro at it was fantastic. The food was delicious, the wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable, happy to make suggestions and explain the different dishes on the menu and the room was beautiful. A wonderful place that looked after us with extraordinary care.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My mom and I went to Toronto to celebrate our birthdays. We had researched all different menus and restaurants trying to find the perfect one for us. We came across Oro. From the moment we walked into the restaurant, we were treated with warmth and kindness. We were seated at a beautiful table by an old fireplace with lovely candles glowing. The wait staff, along with the owner Connie, were lovely to talk to and gave us the perfect amount of attention. The food is OUTSTANDING!!! the best calamari I have ever had and the Seafood Platter is a MUST! I have already recommended this wonderful restaurant to friends and family. I cant wait to go back. Thank you Oro. Was an amazing experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ORO Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to ORO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing