We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the absolute best”

Olde Yorke Fish & Chips
Ranked #47 of 8,641 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East York
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“the absolute best”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

it's been about a year since we last visited. 5 of us went in (family and friend) for lunch. we went in early, and were seated immediately. 4 tetley's cream ale ordered as accompaniment to the meal - it's great t be able to get the english beers on tap - a good selection.
3 ordered the halibut and chips. you can get haddock or cod as well - and they are all very good - but the halibut is reasonably priced - and is our favourite. linda ordered the healthy alternative - the halibut broiled, and salad - and it was cooked perfectly. done, but not dried out at all. nicely seasoned and tasted great. i ordered the regular halibut with salad. even the salads are excellent - fresh, crisp, and nicely presented.
the fish was - as always - lightly battered, very crisp, and not greasy at all when cut into.
as stated before in previous review - they have spoiled us for any other fish and chips. nowhere else comes anywhere close to the taste and quality of this restaurant. and as always, if you're not there early, you will have to wait in line (and it will be worth it).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank extoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    69
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great place. The fish and chips are the best, the batter is light and cripsy (not soggy like many other places) haven't been to another fish and chips since this discovery. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaDie905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varies...
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Toronto”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It can be very busy, parking can be difficult, and its a bit out of the way. That being said, its well worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 284Weary_traveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVE! Best Fish & Chips in the City!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I love this place! I never ate fish and chips before I came to Olde Yorke! The fish (my fav is halibut) and batter are ALWAYS fresh, never had a bad meal. The batter is light and tastes amazing! Also BEST coleslaw! A MUST for fish & chips!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rluv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like back home..........”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My son introduced me to Old Yorke Fish & Chips recently after visiting Riverdale Farm with my son daughter in law and Grand Children my son suggested we go to a Fish & Chip place he had found on Leaside
Despite being fairly early 5.30pm there was already a queue outside ( a good sign )
Finally got a table service was quick as busy as it was we ordered the onion rings as starters , bread & butter Haddock & Chips WOW awesome Chips were cripy just done to perfection the Haddock of my choice was crispy batter white as snow fish wonderful
On another visit I had the Steak Pie which to was delicious now I have on return visits have to decide between the both!
I understand the owners are from Manchester where they had a Fish & Chip business all I can say is Britains loss Toronto's gain

Great Plaice!!

Cheers!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Yorke Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Olde Yorke Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing