We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cantonese Cusine”

New Sky Garden Restaurant
Ranked #3,400 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
795 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Excellent Cantonese Cusine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The food is fabulous and tasty. Our Chinese family goes here regularly. All the dishes we've had, have been very good without exception. Portions are substantial and prices moderate. You can find cheaper, but not better. There can be a line-up, so go early. Décor is OK, somewhat tight seating, washrooms barely adequate, while service is efficient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food here and all at a great value. The only thing I dislike is that you feel crammed like sardines inside the dining area

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deebee_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food,queue outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant must have a good reputation. It is popular with the local Chinese residents and booking is probably essential - they were queuing outside when we left. The food is of good quality and large portion sizes. Dinner for 3 came to $120, not cheap, but we did have lobster and all the food tasted very authentic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of the best Chinese food restaurants I have ever eaten in. We saw an article posted in the restaurant window say what good food it had but the service was spotty. My experience exactly. Really the service is fine but you sometime have to ask or remind them what you want. They get it right away after that. No attitude to it or anything. You don't feel bad asking (but you have to ask) and they do what ever it is they forgot or needed to be reminded of. To be fair we did add people to our table well after service began and they were extremely accommodating. ONE OF THE BEST CHINESE RESTAURANTS OUT THERE.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank whittel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food in Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Aunt L. wanted to treat my mom for her upcoming birthday at New Sky Restaurant, which she regarded as far better than the more popular Lee Garden. New Sky Restaurant was not to disappoint. We only ordered a few dishes but enjoyed them a lot. The Scallops Fried Rice and the White Chicken with Jellyfish that we ordered were very good. The latter was a unique dish I haven't seen or tried in any other restaurant I've been to and, as a foodie, this is the kind of food I'm always on the alert for. I want to be surprised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Sky Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Sky Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing