We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Perfect as you can get”

Nami Japanese Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #161 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Minden, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As Perfect as you can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Amazing food and decor:
Last night celebrated a friend's Birthday. His wife new the menu well and ordered
for my wife and I. We sat at the Grill Bar. Being able to see them make/cook our
food makes it even better, if that is possible!
Master chefs making exquisite food.
NOTE: If you are not a lover of Japanese food don't go and let me have your seat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    51
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
171 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“It IS possible to have great sushi in Toronto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nami set the bar for all my dining experiences in Toronto and was hard to top. When you enter the restaurant, you'll be confronted by a samurai warrior. Not a real one, it was just a costume, but beside it you'll be greeted by a friendly Japanese hostess dressed in a traditional kimono. So far so good.

The Sushi Pizza was recommended to me a few time from friends so I had to order it. Salmon sashimi topped with spicy sauce and roe on top of deep fried rice. The combination and textures went together very well. All other nigiri and sushi I ordered were fresh and high quality.

As my husband and I ate, there was soft music playing in the background. I know it was a CD, but I imagined a harp being played behind one of the screen doors while a geisha danced to the music. The service throughout our whole meal was fantastic and we'll be back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koko269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“High end product at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here for years and can tell u that it's quality and service have been consistently good.
It's not expensive relative to the quality of product that they serve as well as a hot and cold menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phadreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top for fish quality and freshness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

A great place for sushi and robata. Not much English spoken by the staff, but good service anyway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ohque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I eat a lot of Japanese food and I think the food at this restaurant was excellent. The agedashidofu was one of the best I've had outside of Japan. The tempura was a bit too heavy for my taste but the shrimp and the vegetables inside were cooked perfectly.
Great service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goworldmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nami Japanese Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nami Japanese Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing