We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal...but a few Annoying Bits to the evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mistura

Mistura
Reserve with OpenTable
Mistura is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #175 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Avenue Road
Transit: Bay or St. George station on the Bloor subway line offer the best option to the restaurant. Mistura is a mere 7 minute walk north on Bay Street or Bedford Road.
Description: Located close to Toronto's Yorkville area, Mistura opened in October of 1997 to rave reviews and continues today with the same ideals. It boasts excellent quality, seasonal menus and served by the professional and knowledgeable team. Mistura is about hospitality that's fun and comfortable, set in an elegant candle-lit atmosphere. A contemporary Italian cuisine reflects a simplified yet refined approach to taste. An extensive wine list, including wine from some of the world's finest vineyards, and an attentive, knowledgeable staff add to the appeal. Perhaps you prefer a more intimate, private setting. Mistura's private dining room holds 14 people, while the semi-private dining room holds up to 40, to cater to your more private functions.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Meal...but a few Annoying Bits to the evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We shared an anniversary and a birthday celebration at Mistura. We had a great meal and overall really enjoyed our experience at Mistura. When we arrived, they could not find our reservation. We had booked on line, but after a few anxious moments they found it (?) and then after another few minutes they had a table. Our waiter was great, the food was excellent. The wine list was a touch on the high side and we didn't realize that the pasta prices were appetizer size prices and when asked if we wanted an appetizer size or full sized portion we didn't realize the price was higher for the full sized portion....a bit of misleading advertising on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoAgnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    50
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Only one complaint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Returned to Mistura with visitors from northern Ontario. Service and quality of the food remains outstanding. Buona jobba Massimo! The only complaint I have is they ran out of the rabbit. How can you run out soo early in the evening (1st sitting)?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great Italian selections with an emphasis on fresh menu items changed seasonally. I liked the traditional choices on the left side of the menu. The owner Massimo was there watching over his empire and hosting an other Toronto celebrity chef that had just dropped in. Great service and reasonably priced wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank REO-LTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We celebrated a birthday last night and chose Mistura's based on reviews from Open Table and we were thrilled with the meal. The aromas from the various dishes as they were served throughout the restaurant were subtle yet made your mouth water. We ordered the threes courses which were smaller portions but still plenty. They were spread out nicely as well so after three hours we were quite satisfied! Each course was exquisite. Try the carpaccio, it melts in your mouth! If you love risotto, the red beet is something out of this world. It is sweet, creamy and phenomenal! The braised rabbit was also delicious and the veggies are braised as well. I prefer crisper veggies but all was devine. Yes we did share dessert , the Lemon Posset did the trick as it was very lemony and tart with the rhubarb and perfect after the richness of the main course. Be prepared to spend$$$$. If you are not prepared to do that then don' t go. To us we love good food to celebrate with and it was worth every bite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Altogether a great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Despite the fact that there are $ 2000 bottles of wine on the list don't be put off, had a great evening,prompt and attentative service, food was excellent all round, starter , main and desert for 4 people, each having something different at each course, without even the slightest complaint, we even got a table visit from the boss which rounded off a superb evening. This was part of Summer Licious and there was excellent value to be had, recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistura also viewed

 

Been to Mistura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing