We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring back the Jolly Miller”
Review of Miller Tavern

Miller Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Miller Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,282 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: Yonge & York Mills
Transit: We are located just south of the York Mills Subway stop on the Yonge TTC Subway Line
Description: We are an upscale casual restaurant with a fabulous Steak and Seafood menu....as well as yummy comfort food and delicious Pub fare. We offer an all day casual menu on both levels. Multiple TV's in the lounge/bar area - and plenty of cozy booths in the dining room upstairs.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Bring back the Jolly Miller”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Attended: June 22, 2013
Four of us had reservations for 6:00 on the 22nd of June. We went to the bar before dinner and after waiting a good 5-6 minutes finally had to go and find someone to serve us. Bar prices were the same as hotel prices - high. Dinner was "okay" at best. The automaton (waitress) started her serving of our table with "do you want tap or bottled water". No "hello", no "my name is" - and it remained that way the rest of the time. The food came like on a conveyor belt - all pre-prepared. There was nothing special about any of it. Bland, undercooked, blah. The Caesar salad was a small bowl of romaine, a few croutons and bottled dressing - $9. Yikes.

I'm afraid we were all very disappointed - just not worth the effort or the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    69
    54
    45
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food was wonderful”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had the Seafood bowl which was delicious. We also had the Lamb with pasta which melted in your mouth. Food was average priced but lots of it. Drinks were regular priced and they had a large selection.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD BUT PRIcEY LUnCH MENU”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

the place is nice, especially because there is practically nothing else in the area. It used to be called "Jolly Miller" and it was a student weekend hangout. the fish items are good, well prepared. The wine list is decent, a bit pricey. Service is friendly but slow.The parking is a bi problem: although they have lots of spaces, they are insufficient for the number of patrons, who are forced to park at the adjacent paid parking lot. All in all, the place is OK but just that...nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenStreetLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food and service. Halibut was very very good.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we had a:

- adult birthday party of 7 in their private room. very comfortable.
- weekend evening
- excellent Service from the waitress
- Food:
My Sirloin steak was done very nicely. thumbs up.
- Other guest's Rib Steak and sirloin was also done well, I tried a piece from them, hehe
- my wife's halibut in lobster sauce was excellent as well.
- Casual Fine Dining with good quality. prices are around 25$+ in main courses.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I recently went with my parents to the Miller Tavern to celebrate their 56th wedding anniversary. I had booked reservations online with a special request for a window table and had mentioned that it was for a wedding anniversary. We were seated on the glassed in terrace on the second floor which was lovely but a little noisy. Our waitress was very friendly,knowledgeable about the menu and attentive. The food was delicious and I would particularly recommend the Sesame AHI Tuna appetizer- we all had a bit and really enjoyed it. At the end of the meal we were brought complimentary chocolated fondue as well as coffee and spiced rum shooters. It was an unexpected but very welcome end to our meal and much appreciated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller Tavern also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Miller Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing