We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good selection, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezzetta Cafe Restaurant

Mezzetta Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #1,624 of 8,409 Restaurants in Toronto
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good selection, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've been there 3 times and enjoyed it. There is a great selection of dishes in Tapas form, all very tasty. The string beans are superb and so are the Lamb brochettes and the Moussaka. Service is very good and the atmosphere cozy. Some nights have entertainment too. Dinner for 3 came to about $60 with beer, absolutely worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lions_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place -- good choice for "picky eaters"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went with 3 couples and found it to be a nice, casual environment. The mood is laid back so don't expect to get out quickly -- the service can be a tad slow. The food is quite decent and the selection is GREAT! Tapas is a great choice for picky eaters because there really is something for everyone. And because tapas is usually smaller portions, if you don't like one dish you don't have to waste a huge portion. If you really like some items, be sure to order doubles. We went on a Monday night where they were having an amazing 1/2 price deal. Call ahead to see which nights offer the best deals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TO-ski-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Full marks for the food, shame about the wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was an interesting dining experience with so many dishes to choose from. It was hard narrowing it down to 20 between four of us. Good value set prices and tasty food. Nice atmosphere and decor, friendly service. My only complaint was the wine. For $30 a bottle we expected a decent wine but ours was very ordinary plonk, no better than the cheap stuff you pick up in the supermarket back in the UK. We should have stuck to the beer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dottytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
407 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, tasty and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Eating at Mezzeta is fun and relaxing. Last week three of us decided that tapas would be the perfect supper. For $48, three people can order 15 little treats and the variety is great. We had some of the usuals: such as the tastiest hummus anywhere; wonderful crunchy green beans, a creamy cauliflower, a lively carrot salad, falafel balls, delectable cheese bourekas,lovely stuffed vine leaves- to mention just a few. We allowed my husband to order a few non-vegetarian treats and he said he preferred the vegetarian to the beef-stuffed cigars and three or four other meat offerings. Something about sharing small portions stimulates laughter and good conversation even on a gloomy, rainy day. Surprisingly small plates can really fill your stomach-but as the service is prompt, it still takes a while to consume so many different flavours. Mezzeta is one of those "go-to" places that over the years has not changed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another find tapas style eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great with group of buds or family. We all pick 3 dishes and share
Atmosphere is very European food is good. They use to have a special on Tuesday's not sure if it is still going on.
I like area parking is easy I normally go for walk after grab an espresso or tea in the area. Area is filled with great eateries.
Check it out
M

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mariatollbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzetta Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mezzetta Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing