We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Locale Mercatto

Locale Mercatto
Ranked #550 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $13 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Description: A modern take on 'local' place of habit. Rosticceria, bracceria, paste + piccolo piatti are key menu elements, including 35 wines offered by the half and full bottle.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a great meal here thursday night. the food was fantastic and the service was amazing. had the Calamari which was perfect crispy and tastey. then the pork chop which was crazy good. plus we had an amazing bottle of wine from The Stem Wine Group. You can not go wrong here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GZtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    68
    30
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Still mediocre...4th visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Toronto Eaton Centre location is very convenient (close to my workplace) so I found myself returning to take a friend for lunch. The problem that I have is that the quality of the food is inconsistent. My guest very much enjoyed her lunch (eggplant parmesan sandwich). My ravioli, however, came stuck together and luke warm. I very much got the impression that it either sat out for a long time or was pre-made and insufficiently microwaved.

As it was a work day and we were limited for time, I did not send back the dish. I just persevered. The service was fine and the prices were reasonable. I will probably return due to its location but I will go with lowered expectations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CS192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food but busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food at this location is good but it is always busy :)
I have been there a couple of time and each time i'm enjoying my meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Savard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited the Mercatto Toronto street location and LOVED it ! A great atmosphere with chalkboard walls and a beautifully designed bar area. The restaurant was full, so we sat at the bar for dinner. It was fabulous ! Still quaint and comfortable. We can't wait to return !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great find for dining downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This has been the best place we've found for nice, reasonably-priced dining within easy walking distance of Union station, City Hall, etc. So much seems to close up at night or be geared toward generic tourist food or the upscale business meal. Mercatto has a lovely atmosphere, particularly in the evening with dimmed lighting and candles. The food is very good and not too expensive. The service was very polished but unobtrusive. We will definitely come here again when we're staying downtown and looking for something close by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, Guest Relations Manager at Locale Mercatto, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for providing us with feedback about your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed this comment onto the General Manager and Chef of the location so they can congratulate their teams on providing a true Mercatto experience. We look forward to having you in the restaurant again on your next trip to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locale Mercatto also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Locale Mercatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing