We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Restaurant

Mandarin Restaurant
Ranked #506 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Award-winning buffet featuring delicious Chinese, Canadian, and International dishes - all prepared fresh daily. Serving over 150 all-you-can-eat items including soups, salads, sushi, grilled items, hot entrees, and desserts. Also offering a-la-carte, take-out and delivery.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here for Dinner while on vacation and really enjoyed the food. The service is great and we had the opportunity to meet one of the owners, Alan Wu, who introduced himself to us. The food was plenty and everything that we had was delicious as well. This place is easy to get to as it is above the Egglington Station.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jiffypop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good all u can eat, its worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Its a nice all u can eat buffet. I think the idea of these kind of places is not having the best quality of food but instead you can have as much as u want. Good place, nice variety and fair enough presentation. Loved the salmon and the crab, sushi on the other hand needs some improvements. Also a friend of mine had some troubles paying with a foreign credit card and the waitress was a little upset about it..... not nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
238 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Better location than some others”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My sister and I visited this location for a quick bite on a recent business trip. I had been to two other Manadarin locations in the city. Although my others experiences were not bad, they were not good either. This location, on the other hand was a surprise. It was busy for a Monday night but we were seated quickly and I noted that the location was very clean.
I strolled through the offerings and was thrilled with the selection and that everything appeared to be freshly prepared and hot. Attendants were busy replacing even 1/2 full trays.
I tried the sushi, the ribs, the lemon chicken and zucchini and everything tasted very good. The selection of deserts was also, very appealing. I would recommend this location and kudos to both the management and the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helper_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Predictable, Very Good Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Mandarin is a southern Ontario chain, and the locations are fairly identical inside as is the menu. Any variation is due to staff & neighbourhood clientele.

That being said, I'll give you my take on their offerings first, then this location's idiosyncrasies.

Although the central concept is Chinese they have wonderful multi-ethnic "corners". You can find a pizza table, there is a roast beef carvery with the usual sides and even a Sushi bar with great salmon and shrimp. The large cold food bar is adorned with fresh fruit, seafood (shrimp, mussels, etc) and salads. The hot dishes consisted of several different types of beef, chicken, fish, shellfish, and pork with a variety of rice, pasta and vegetable sides.

Huge positives:
1. The quality and freshness shone throughout. No tough, dried out or mysterious gristle or bone in the food. Sauces were in separate containers so meat didn't get soggy, & you could control the amount of condiment you used.
2, The stations each had plates and bowls, hot or cold depending on the food. Each chafing dish rested in a hot table or in ice, as appropriate. The food platters were replaced frequently, depending on either the remaining quantity or length of time the dish had been out.
3. The dessert experience was a sinful delight, with almost every variety of cake, tart, pastry, cake, pudding, fruit or ice-cream & frozen yogurt worth having. There was no shortage of whipped cream or chocolate covered treats.
4. Service at the table is amazingly efficient, friendly and well-timed. Plates empty - they were gone! Water glass half-empty - filled!
5.The layout of the buffet stations and table/room gave an intimacy which belied the restaurant size and number of guests.

The not-so-good:
1. The serving area is challenging for pre-teens & children to negotiate. The square stations, with dishes at each corner are convenient, except that people would go through from every direction, resulting in traffic jams.
2. The whole building is handicap-hostile: the parking lot is quite crowded & only one close-by designated parking space, with other spaces a challenging distance and no drop-off points. Whatever entrance you use, you must take stairs, and an escalator as well from the parking lot. Unless other customers were alert and attentive, wheel chairs and service dogs would be at a big disadvantage.

The niceties:
1. Prices are very reasonable for the variety, freshness, quality& quantity of food;
2. Parking is free, & seniors (65) get a 20% discount on food;
3. The service & dining areas are very clean, as are the washrooms;
4. All the staff are friendly & service-oriented.

It was a dining-out treat, which I will both revisit and recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colonelhightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
339 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Good Open Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good open buffet, fresh, tasty and provacative set up. However the decoration is outdated. Prices are resonable comparing the enough variety of foods. Will go there again and we suggest this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru-su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing