We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant, hard to find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalay Restaurant

Mandalay Restaurant
Ranked #1,290 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Scarborough
Description: Mandalay Restaurant, a warm, intimate and unpretentious dining establishment, has been catering to the discerning diners of Scarborough for over 25 years. Being in one of the world's most culturally diverse city, the intermingling of South East Asian cultures has given us the "traditional" fusion cuisines from which our eclectic fusion contemporary menu has evolved to cater to the diverse palates amongst us. Our goal is to offer delectable foods infused with spices and aromas to please the palate, along with the warmth and hospitality in our service, and a warm casual place to enjoy it all.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, hard to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere. It is not too big and you can have a nice dinner without being overwhelmed by backround noise. The prices are reasonable and the dishes are tasty and unique. We've taken quite a few people there and all have enjoyed it very much. The only downside is you have to know where it is located. It is on a main drag in the city, but off to the side of a building just west of Markham on the north side of Lawrence.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PalosHeights
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid with Kids”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were visiting Toronto with our two daughters, 9 and 10 years old. We read the reviews on Yelp and Trip Advisor and decided to try the restaurant despite the location and appearance from the outside. The inside is old, but clean and waitress was pleasant. They did not have a kids menu, but we were told they could make chicken fingers and fries or a pasta with sauce for the kids. One ordered the chicken fingers and one pasta with red sauce. Overall food and experience was good until we received the bill. We were charged $12.95 per kid per meal. That is way out of line with even other fine dining restaurants in the area such as the Keg where we ate two nights earlier. Their kids meals were way better and cost a mere $8.95. Seems like they took advantage of us to make up for the lack of customers. If you are dining with children STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great dining.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Like eating in a fine food restaurant without having to go downtown. All the dishes i have eaten are very tasty and have excellent balance. They could improve the portion size a bit for the prices but othetwise a very nice restaurant.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redskin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive service, good atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I visited this restaurant on a whim and were unexpectedly impressed: The location and unpretentious façade give no hint of the intimate, nuanced dining experience within. The staff was friendly and attentive; the food arrived quickly, perfectly cooked and nicely presented- the only regret, if any, is not chosing from the ample selection of wines. Never before has the term "hidden gem" been better-applied than to Mandalay!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Linguini Yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We often go to this restaurant and order the same thing off the menu. This time the amount of seafood was amazing and delicious. Ben was our waiter and everything was great. The decor and atmosphere is also good here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank multitravelorrkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandalay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandalay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing