We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LE PARADIS, NOT!!!!!!!!!!!”

Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro
Ranked #138 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Chicora Ave.
toronto
Level Contributor
365 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“LE PARADIS, NOT!!!!!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have not been back to Le Paradis for a looooong time; yes, I must admit that it is a very quaint neighbourhood bistro right in the middle of Toronto's Designers' Walk district, but it possess all the elements of a true French Bistro in Paris, waiters are rude, food is average in a jolly moulin rouge atmosphere. The staff particularly the chefs all seemingly were having a great time amongst themselves however I find no paradise on my plate nor in my food. I had the Moules as appertiser and they were the tiniest bland things that I have ever came across that when I had finished them I had forgotten that I had had eaten them. My main was the veal liver and it came burnt sitting on a plate with wilted something and a small pile of frites; the liver was again tastless with no seasonings however I did enjoy the frites. The only saving grace of the evening was that I was in great companies.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    87
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great little place where ambiance makes the difference.Food was good, exactly what they say is is no more no less. Quaint little bistro with parisien allure. Mr. Guy made the evening a success with his service and kindness.Aparently he's been there 17 yrs. Long live Paradis.WE shall return merci Mr Guy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefguy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Bistro Close to Yorkville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

One of my favourite dining spots for over 30 years. Traditional bistro/brasserie dishes full of great flavour and competently prepare and served. The menu has much to choose from (fish, steak, veal, sausage and more). Fairly priced wine list for Toronto. Great value! Quiet front and back patios for warm weather dining.
Just to clear up a reviewer from Galway's take on this restaurant, it most definitely is not an Italian eatery or pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arnoldoftoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverley, Canada
Level Contributor
394 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Authentic French cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you're looking for a little bit of France in downtown Toronto, this is the place. All the serving staff speak French fluently and the menu is extensive, and delicious. The pâtés and duck comfit were yummy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanYHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Toronto Celebration of Fine French Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been to eat dinner at Le Paradis Restaurant, here in Toronto, several times. The food is delicious, from appetizer to dessert. The prices are very reasonable, by Toronto standards, which helps bring in repeat and new customers on a regular basis. I also like the atmosphere, which is typically French, yet relaxing and laid back. The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to people; it is worthwhile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing