We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exelent!!”

Le Papillon on Front
Ranked #142 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: American, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Le Papillon on Front is located in the heart of Old Town Toronto. Inside of a beautiful Old Town Toronto building with exposed brick walls and high lofty ceilings sits the beautiful venue for Le Papillon on Front. It's exposed brick is complemented well by the aged hardwood floor and perfectly soft lighting. The venue suggests a lovely mix of romance, comfort, and of course, the classic French bistro atmosphere that has followed Le Papillon to all of its locations. In the warmer months Le Papillon on Front even creeps its way onto Front street, giving a beautiful view of the Flatiron building as well as the CN tower in the distance. With a closed in patio adorned with wonderfully arranged planters you experience a private feel, even while sitting on the heart of Front Street.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exelent!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As always, the food was amazing. We had couple of appetizers, main courses with a bottle of wine to share and desserts. The service was good too. Our waitress was very busy but still gave us enough attention. However, she showed no attention at all at the end when we finished our deserts. It was kind of shame. Overall it's always been good experience at Le Papillon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    158
    58
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not substantial. Won't return again. Sad, after all these years.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

After a skimpy napkin-sized crepe filled with two spoonfuls of spinach, my parents had to go home to eat afterwards. One crusty slice of bread doled out with tongs. One "signature" house salad with a quarter of an egg (really, how much does one half of an egg cost?) and a quarter tomato and a hint of dressing - no olives or cheese slice like before. Although nice atmosphere and toilets, this restaurant's food is lacking what it once was, in terms of offering Torontonians and toursists French cuisine. Over the years, we've adored and followed Le Papillon from Jarvis Street to Front Street to Church Street and back to Front Street. I know the rent is high in the area, near the flat iron building with expensive and limited parking. Now we'll just have to drive out to the east end to the fantastic Le Papillon on the Park. But not here downtown. It's a shame. If you could do something to save your business, please do.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilJ_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restaurant”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Le Papillon has been in Toronto for a long time, in it's 3rd location - and did not disappoint this time. I have to admit, I have the tourtiere every time, so my menu selection is a good barometer. Again, delicious! Very friendly service staff. And again, great looking restaurant, right from the entrance through to the elegant but warm decor. I'm a fan!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice, will return.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The service was very good from A to Z. Our waiter was friendly, helpful, but not invasive. The food was good with a very little reserve on a couple of items but nothing major. The Fish Soup for instance could be a tiny bit more garlicky.
The decor is nice, simple but charming (Love the brick wall)
Would recommend the place for a date or a small party.

Will definitely return and bring more friends over.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Customer is NOT king”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice restaurant.
I took the filet mignon with dry vermouth sauce. The meat was absolutely excellent, the sauce average, nothing special.

After the main course it took a long time before I got the dessert menu.
My favorite dessert: cheese, was only for two. 23 C$

As I was alone (business trip), so I asked if it would be possible to get me some cheese just for 1 person.
answer: NO. (the kitchen can't do that)

Do you mean that you can't cut some pieces of cheese for just one person?
While on your menu you have a cheese starter for one person.

Exceptionally dissapointing. ( I was willing to spend more, even pay 23$ for less cheese)

The customer is NOT king.

I was in a hurry to leave this restaurant. I paid, but no tip.

So, don't go there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joost D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Papillon on Front also viewed

 

Been to Le Papillon on Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing