We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True French Cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Montmartre

Le Montmartre
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Montmartre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,037 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North York
Toronto
Level Contributor
294 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“True French Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I visited Le Montmartre for the 1st time with a friend who is a bit of a regular there. It's cozy inside but not cramped for space. We had a lovely table near the fireplace and although it was fairly busy for a week-night, it wasn't noisy. I had the French onion soup and it was delicious - one of the best that I've had outside of France. I also had Les Crevette Natasha with quite large shrimp and a light, pleasant sauce with diced tomatoes. The service was good and the French music in the background helped with the ambiance. Definitely one that I would go back to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In need of a 'Chef Ramsay' makeover ! inside / out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have spend several New Years eve dinners there, however last one of 2012 was super dissapointing!!! $250 wasted, oh ya, best part was grand cru cognac $20/shot! overpriced
The rack of lamb was swimming in a plate full of garlic butter and the duck was smothered in poor version of orange sauce.
Most dissapointing was the fact that we adressed the issue to two waiters and our concerns fell on deaf ears,

a la prochaine,.... I THINK NOT !!! :( :( :(

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's French”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice little French restaurant. The waitress always speaks French and it reminds me of my vacation in the south of France. Soups were good and I enjoyed my pepper corn beef. It was a little peppery but look what I ordered.

Skipped dessert but had some great French white wine

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Briken12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Atrocious service, boring food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This restaurant is supposed to be a true 'French' restaurant in the traditional sense. To me, this generally means a smaller menu, and lots of flavour. Unfortunately, it fails the taste test, and even worse, fails the service test.

It all begins with promise- the restaurant is located at a busy intersection on Sheppard, but easily accessible via the Allen, and has ample parking at the rear. Decor is subdued and a touch old fashioned, but with a mission statement of traditional French fare, completely in line with expectations.

The dining room is small without being tight, and has ample room for larger groups.

The menu offers a fairly standard array of French dishes - terrine, esgargots, salads, French onion soup, a number of chicken combinations, a few classic beef concoctions, and 2 or 3 seafood plates. The menu, while small, offers a good range of selection that should be fine for just about any urge you may have.

Our table ordered multiple starters to share- escargot, terrine, a lobster bisque, and a French onion soup. The terrine was fairly innocuous. The soups were quite tasty on the whole. The escargot was lifeless and too buttery to be pleasant.

After an excruciating wait for our mains (approximately 35 minutes after the appetizer plates were cleared), our mains arrived. The beef medallions were cooked well but lacked flavour. The mussels were overcooked and rubbery. The lone standout was the liver plater, which had a smooth and buttery taste that didn't overwhelm with 'liver'. Sides for the mains were an uninspiring mix of what seemed to be deep fried potato wedges and small bundles of carrot.

Dessert proved similarly uneven, with the creme brulee proving to be above average, the profiteroles far too tasteless given the massive amount of calories they looked to encompass, and the chocolate mousse appearing store bought.

Lastly, I need to comment on the service. There is a certain expectation when visiting a French restaurant that snooty service is par for the course. I've often commented that lovers of French cuisine must be sadomasochists at heart when it comes to customer care. This holds true at Le Montmartre- although our waiter was pleasant, he rarely visited our table to fill our water, and more egregiously, left us dry for extended periods when our bottle of wine was empty.

In summary, Toronto has far too many high quality restaurants, most more centrally located, to make this a recommended restaurant. Although the pricing was reasonable, a little bit more scratch will generally get you a better French meal elsewhere in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDudeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very cozy and excellent French restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family, friends and I have been patrons for about ten years.
It's a small family owned restaurant.
Superb cuisine, very cozy intimate restaurant.
"An authentic French restaurant, Le Montmartre exudes an "air of France" with the music of Edith Piaf and Charles Aznavour playing in the background. For the last 18 years, the delicious gourmet dishes have been prepared to perfection, accompanied with well-selected French wines. The decor features paintings by Van Gogh and Renoir. The menu offers delectable dishes made only with the finest ingredients and freshest herbs."

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Montmartre also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Le Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing