We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent dim sum (but a little pricey)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lai Wah Heen

Lai Wah Heen
Reserve with OpenTable
Lai Wah Heen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #512 of 8,366 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Dundas Street West
Transit: South West corner of Dundas Street and Chestnut street. Two blocks west of Dundas subway station. Two blocks east of St. Patrick subway station.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum (but a little pricey)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very tasty dim sum. Crab was done in the shape of a crab which was unique. Seafood noodles were great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank expediti0nleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    79
    45
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Upscale Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I love traditional dim sum in Toronto. The bustle of the steamer carts, the plastic table cloths and the variety of dishes all make for one of my favorite dining experiences.

Lai Wah Heen takes amazing dim sum and kicks it up a notch. The ambiance and service is what I would expect from a French-fusion restaurant. The har gow, sui mai, and shrimp cheong fun did not disappoint. Lai Wah Heen will be one of my regular stops for lunch when I'm in Toronto.

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
170 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

A well known Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor of the Metropole Hotel. The entrance is not up to the standard of the Restaurant.Wewere a table of eight ,ordered the famous Dim Sum, which were very good, Pekingese duck, was a disappointment, cold and dry! The rest of the food was rather good. The service was not that great, waitress rather rude , the atmosphere is cold .
We had been there 5 years years ago , it was much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
257 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had visited Lai Waheen perhaps 10 years ago and had fond memories. At the time I was relatively new to the delights of Dim Sum and the experience was fantastic. I am not sure whether the level of performance has slipped a little or whether I am just more used to excellent Dim Sum, but while I enjoyed my visit, I do not think that this ranks amongst the best Dim Sum west of Hongkong. Still well worth a visit if you want to have Dim Sum in a quiet and pleasant athmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dazzling Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This upscale Chinese restaurant is a jewel. Located in the Metropolitan hotel, it offers an elegant, tranquil atmosphere and the best Dim Sum you will find anywhere. Artfully designed, delicate flavors, a wide selection. Don't miss the wok fried turnip cake , siu Mai or the deep fired eggplant with shrimp paste and garlic. Fried "cocoon" of shredded Chinese radish also delish!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzpru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Wah Heen also viewed

 

Been to Lai Wah Heen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing