We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top 10 in Toronto. Who voted?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornello on King

Il Fornello on King
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornello on King is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #202 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: King and University
Transit: St Andrews Subway station or if traveling by Street Car, get off at King and Simcoe Streets.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Top 10 in Toronto. Who voted?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The ad in the hallway of the Queen's Quay location is laughable. It stated that it ranked in the top 10 restaurants in Toronto. What an insult to the city's superb chefs and spaces. Definitely a C grade chain restaurant. Very mediocre food. Not horrible. Just uninspiring.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    115
    56
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner as a party of 10. We had a reservation and were seated promptly, drinks were ordered and no problems. The menu was very extensive and I chose the risotto. The food was brought out in a reasonable amount of time, our waiter was very attentive and we had a good experience.

I was very impressed at the end when we asked if it would be possible to have separate bills and he didn't hesitate. I totally realize that this is a big pain after the fact but we really appreciated it and tipped accordingly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank powelj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stopped into this restaurant at abour 5:30 pm for a pre-baseball game meal. The place was empty but the hostess still gave us the evil eye for not having a reservation. She manages to "squeeze us in" and that is exactly what she did. We were sat at a very small table in a cramped corner. There were empty tables all around. it took over 10 minutes for our server to come and take our drink order - was probably anaother 15 minutes before our drinks arrived and they were wrong. Waitress complaned that she was run off her feet (only 4 other tables were full) and she wasn't responsible for the delay. We ordered dinner and a bottle of wine. The meal arrived after 20 minutes or so during which time 2 other tables had been seated and served. I had the pizza which tasted like cardboard. I asked for the hot chili oil - this didn't arrive for 20 minutes and it didn't help the taste. My husband had pasta (which he normally loves) and refused to eat more than 2 bites of it. The bottle of wine arrived at the same time our table was cleared. DON'T BOTHER GOING HERE.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calgal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
185 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice italian in downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a dinner with friends last friday night and is was really very nice. Everyone order something different and everything seems delicious. A lot of veg options (even some vegan). Prices are not the cheapest, kind of middle of the road. Some advice: the italian bread and butter that comes as a couvert is amazing, but don't eat too much of it as the size of the dishes are big and you probably will probably regret (or ask for a doggy-bag!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank e1000lewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I don't understand other reviews. They have great pizza at reasonable prices. The salads are generous. The caprese salad was tasty and well presented and huge. I understand that the products they use are largely from southern Ontario so you have to applaud them. Service is always excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornello on King also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornello on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing