We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Business Dinner - Excellent Service - Best Steakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hy's Steak House

Hy's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $54
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: York
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Place for Business Dinner - Excellent Service - Best Steakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

From the entrance till the end of your journey there you are impressed by the exceptional service.
Food is great, whatever you order you cannot be wrong. But be aware of the prices, check them before going there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    96
    54
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
978 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“What a meal should be!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you are looking at a fine dining experience, great steak, great service, great drinks, this is your place. I cannot rave more about this place, it is simply awesome. The Hy's steak filets in mushroom sauce is divine. The table side cesar salad is delicious and entertaining. Excellent and top notch service and quality. Other restaurants should take lessons from Hy's Steakhouse as an excellent establishment. I will return again and again. By the way they have an excellent kids menu and so cheap. They can also do a nice steak for your kids. My kids love this restaurant and so do we.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wonderful, old style steakhouse, with impeccable service, great food and a real Toronto flair. This is the steakhouse I cut my teeth on and going back is never a disappointment. I would recommend any visitor to Toronto visit Hy's for a true Toronto/Canadian experience. And if you live in Toronto, it is a must

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catharine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Night out at Hy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

One word describes my recent experience at Hy's. Phenominal!

Hy's exudes sophistication, class and elegance - walking up to the restaurant from the outside gives a sense that you are about to enter a special place. Stepping inside you begin to get a sense of how exceptional this place really is; not only from the architecture but from the staff as well. The restaurant was very accommodating regardless of the fact that we showed up an hour late for our reservation! They went above and beyond to honor all of our requests, (it was a couples night and just as requested the restaurant had flowers waiting at the table for the ladies).

The food was amazing and very delicious! Obviously the hallmark of the restaurant is steak and this they do impeccably well. The steaks were perfectly cooked, juicy and very tender - most definitely one of the best steaks that I have ever had. The side dishes accompanying the steaks were very good as well but its the steak that takes center stage.

Our server was very attentive, and very pleasant. At the same time she did not rush us and allowed us to sit and chat for as long as we wanted. It was one of those small things that allows you to really take in the whole experience because it gave time to do so.

The whole experience was absolutely amazing and well worth it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 87JDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everything about this meal, from the Caesar salads made fresh at the table to the New York Strip special was simply superb. Great service, friendly and fun.

A proper dining experience, worth every dollar

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Hy's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing