We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second only to RUTH CHRIS'S”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hy's Steak House

Hy's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $53
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: York
Thedford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second only to RUTH CHRIS'S”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Almost the best steak in Toronto, their New York Strip is excellent and a little bit cheaper than Ruth Chris's. Sevice at Hys is unsurpassed by any restaurant in Toronto. Amosphere is outstanding and the menus is extensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    99
    55
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average steak with highend price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Took 3 of my friends for a birthday on July 29, 2013. The restaurant it self is really nice, with great service, but as a steak house, i was expecting a good steak - let's just say that KEG is even better for a fraction of the cost - all 3 of us shared the same feeling. We ordered 2 lobster and steak and one New York , with 2 bottles of wine and deserts - good wine and desert, but not steak!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueRiver007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, not the best for large groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was in Toronto this past weekend with a large group (approx 20). We had reservations, and I was excited to finally try Hy's.

The decor is elegant, and more traditional. Very nice, and spotless. We were seated quickly, and the table was made up for us in a room near the back. This was great, as we were not as concerned about others dining near us, 20ppl who know eachother can get noisy at times.

Service was mediocre. After taking half the table's drink orders, a guest asked for a wine list. A wine list was provided, and bottles ordered, but those of us not drinking wine had to flag down the waiter to place our drink orders. Strange. Although the food came out as ordered, the waiter seemed to be going through the paces, and was not friendly to the group, almost annoyed. Some felt it may have been the younger age of our party (25-35)

Food: Excellent! Everyone's food was perfect. We had a wide range of people who are keen on fine dining, and some who don't do it often, and all of us enjoyed our meals. Everything from strips, and fillets to Chicken and Lobster, all perfect.

When the server brought 20meals on a single bill, we were a little puzzled, and we had to request separate bills. This seemed like we were really putting out the staff, and they did not want to do it. With today's POS systems, even the smallest of places have no problem with this.

Overall: Great Food, great decor, and mediocre service. Would go back, just not with a large group perhaps.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jweatherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old School at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place to have a pre dinner cocktail (compliments to the mixologist) and enjoy the Art Deco décor of the bar.
This is definitely the place to go for a great steak. Our steaks were cooked precisely as ordered and the service was both friendly and efficient. The wine menu is extensive and of course included a number of very expensive. vintages. However, there was a good number of reasonably priced wines to select from as well. I highly recommend Hy's for those seeking a great steak combined with old school (think 1930's) ambiance

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MLCB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Service was excellent not rushed but not slow. If u like garlic bread they serve that prior to meal and it is to die for. We had Caesar salads made table side of which was one of the best we've had in a restaurant in a very long time. As for the steak it to was cooked to perfection. It is a little pricey but worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Hy's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing