We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always satisfied” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hy's Steak House

Hy's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 8,409 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $54
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: York
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
552 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Always satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hys Toronto is just one of those places that makes you feel that you have arrived. High in price, high in style, the place makes you feel like taking up cigar smoking, sitting in lounges sipping Brandy every Friday afternoon at the end of a hard work week, patting yourself on the back for making it, there,......... again.

The atmosphere does it, maybe the food isn't the absolutely best but it is very good and combined with the feeling of being "somebody" (if you know what I mean), it makes the steak taste even more terrific! There are not many places anymore that have a great steak. This is close. It could be the walls towering walls of wine, the oak or walnut soaring three stories high or the class of the waitress' in the front bar area, whatever it is, be sure to take your time, relax, enjoy your meal with well trained hosts and waiters and spend some money. It is well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockiroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    96
    54
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you like steak . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

After being away from home for almost 9 months, Hy's was the first place I thought of to get my steak fix. I wasn't disappointed. Their New Yorker was very tasty and the Cesar salad, never fails to satisfy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1colin_thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor service for upscale restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Last night we were downtown and escaped the torrential rain by going to the underground path and finding our way to Hy's Steakhouse. We ordered our food, which included appetizers, then steaks and two side dishes. Service was slow, but we eventually got our appetizers. Then came the steaks minus the side dishes. We started eating the steak and 5 minutes later, we reminded the waiter about our sides. He said they were on their way. 10 mins later, we told a waiter to tell our waiter to cancel the sides. We had just about finished our meal. Then our waiter came running out with one of the sides asking if we didn't want it. We said no, it was too late. So he took it away without a word - didn't have the class to apologize or say it was his fault they were so late and that we could them anyway.

We will not go back - the place is expensive and for that price, i expect a great deal more in terms of service. And the steaks were okay, nothing amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great decor, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We brought our teenager and young child, and everyone had a great meal. We left absolutely stuffed. This is a great venue to share with your special someone or just for a long evening. Do not expect your meals to be any shorter than 2.5 hours at this place. A very inexpensive children's menu offered chicken fingers, pasta,fries, grilled cheese sandwich,etc. The garlic shrimp appetizer was ok (i didn't like the cream sauce) but the prosciutto and cheese wrapped asparagus was excellent. Everyone had seconds of the freshly baked garlic bread. The filet mignons were cooked as ordered, and came with a side potato or mashed, and we also ordered the lobster tail. The fish special was an incredible dish of baked sea bass, purée veg and spinach. I recommend ordering the mildly spicy salsa on the side, since the fish tasted amazing on its own. We ordered the alaskan crab legs that had almost all of the shell removed, and sides of asparagus and huge onion rings in a delicious batter similar to Wonderland funnel cakes without the sugar! . If you have a child with you, the 'kiddy' sundae is equivalent to a large Sundae for two adults to share! The cheesecake was good but not superb, and coffee was a good, bold blend. Sparkling water came with free refills that were constantly poured into my glass. Staff were extremely attentive and courteous, and the gorgeous, posh but warm interior with dim lights, high ceilings, dinner music exuded class but not pretentiousness. staff and interior made it an exceptional visit. I only found one thing out of place- the hostess at the front desk at the end of the night did not acknowledge us as we were leaving,although all wait staff who walked by smiled and said goodbye. considering that she also represents the restaurant, she should have at least given a mere smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

A perfect night out. Staff (everyone; from the bartender to the guy filling water in our glasses to the waiter) was super nice and professional. Extensive wine list. And the food was so good, it almost brought tears to my eyes. Expensive? A bit - but worth every dollar!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Hy's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing