We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not High-Profile, But Quite Good”
Review of Gojima

Gojima
Order Online
Ranked #2,154 of 10,303 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Sunnylea
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Sunnylea
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Momiji just east of Gojima, gets all the fanfare for Etobicoke sushi joint, but Gojima is not bad itself. In looking for an alternative, due to being low on funds, we went to Gojima just to try it out and we came out more than happy and quite satisfied.

The sushi is very fresh and very well presented, with meaty bits of fish in the rolls and the lovely appetizers are made brilliantly; their Rockstar Roll is absolutely delicious (go figure; I go to a more affordable place and order the most expensive roll). No complaints, other than the ambiance is less than stellar and parking can be tricky (it IS Bloor, after all). Wait staff was fine as well, Gojima is great!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cgbtruck101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2016

The sushi and sashimi are very fresh. Anything deep fried tend to be greasy. Service is typical of this type of place - no smile, don't care.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank CM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

I have been dining at Gojima (or ordering out) for nearly 20 years, and they continue to provide premium, excellent value sushi. The service is friendly and quick, usually with an unexpected "on the house" addition! Food is always fresh, expertly crafted and tasty. Listening to the welcomes at the door, it seems that almost all customers are regulars, who appreciate this casual but high quality restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

I love Gojima. This is our go-to sushi spot. While we usually do take-out, last night we went and dined in with some friends for a birthday. Charlie made sure he took care of us by bringing out some wonderful 'treats' on the house like tempura vegetables, salads, after dinner fruit and sake-bombs.
As always, the food was extremely high quality with very fresh fish and rolls that are constantly way more fish than rice. There is a lot of craftsmanship put into making the rolls and presentation.
They are always accommodating to dietary restrictions and do their best to meet your needs.
Thank you Gojima

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Birnbaum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016

I came here first time 17 years ago and we still go whenever we fell like eating Japanese food for lunch. Now with the family. Great food, very friendly staff and you do feel like at home when they recognize you and appreciate you coming back time after time. We prefer it as a spot for lunch and you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It is friendly for any time of visit - from lunch with friends, family, solo or business meeting.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hocunecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gojima also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Gojima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing