We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service”

Donatello Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 8,576 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Went to Donatello with a friend who I hadn't seen for a while. Servers were great. Knew when to approach and when to let us continue our conversation. Even as we came towards closing time, I felt no pressure to finish up.

Food was good, but not the spectacular that I would need to give it a 5. Bread was nothing special. Soup and salad were good, but ordinary. Main course was quite good with a decently sized portion.

Overall, I have no problem recommending Donatello as a nice, solid restaurant in the Yonge/Dundas area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LACanuck_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    168
    45
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chow Bellas!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have been to Toronto and stayed dowtntown several times and had never really found a great restaurant until now. There is a difference between eatting and dining, and a night at Donatello's is definitely a dining experience! The staff goes above and beyond to make everyone feel very special. Our waiter was great and helped us make good choices. The hostess was also very nice and helped us plan the rest of our night. You can tell the staff takes great pride in what they do. My boyfriend had their veal chop which is one of their specialties and highly reccomended and I had one of the night's specials, crab and goat cheese ravioli in a rose sauce. Both were divine. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenczarnota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were staying at the Eaton Chelsea across the street and had fully planned to have dinner at The Keg Mansion. It turned out there was a snowstorm so instead of taking a cab to the Keg we decided to check out Donatello after walking by it in the morning on our way for breakfast. We are so glad we did. What a great experience. They are so warm and friendly and go out of their way to take care of you. If you want something that is not on the menu, they will prepare it for you - for example, my 9 year old son loves fettucine but not mushrooms, and on the menu it is with mushrooms. We asked if they could hold the mushrooms and put grilled chicken on top instead. Of course! they said. My other son wanted meatballs with his spaghetti - no problem! They also make suggestions for you and just generally make you feel like you are important to them and not rushed at all. The food was delicious! They even asked my kids if they would like milk with their desserts. A good dining experience is definitely more than just the food, it's the service as well. Donatello has it all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food love, Italian style”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We read the reviews and saw several great ones on Trip Advisor & a couple of negative ones but we have heard of Donatellos and always wanted to try it out. We walked in this afternoon & made a reservation for that night. We arrived at 7:00 pm and left at 10:00 pm. Wow! what an excellent romantic dinner. Mila, Dziyana and Khaled made us feel like family from the moment we were greeted and taken upstairs to one of the most intimate dining rooms we have ever been in. (and we have been in restaurants from Australia to New York City)
The chef prepared a special appetizer, at my wife`s request, from the special entree of the evening prepared of 3 raviolis, we had a perfect grilled calamari and then we were treated to a fantastic veal chop dinner and veal Marsala dinner. For dessert we had a tiramsu (home made) and chocolate brownie cheesecake.The price of the entire meal was good value given that we had two bottles of wine and asked for special preparations not on the menu. They were very obliging.
We cannot give enough compliments to our hosts who went out of their way to make us feel as if we were long lost family, It was not just us but every table had the same attention to personal service. If this sounds like gushing then too bad, our night out was that good and we make no apologies.
Oh yes, we have already told them when we are back in Toronto and that we will make reservations once again for Donatello restaurant. We are hoping to have the same three hosts..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomh1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MY PLACE”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I frequent this Italian fine dining restaurant. You are really somebody when you walk in. Owners Giacomo and Filomena greet you with a hug. First thing they ask "How are you, How is the family, efverything Ok?" then they personally refer you to one of the waiters(waitresses) who take you to your dining table. Believe me when you look at the menu, you could practically eat it. The food is first rate Real Italian, like back home in Italy. The restaurant offers the best differenta pastas, delectable steak, prime veal any way you like it, lamb, seafood medley, other delights from the sea and sweet water such as Salmon, Tilapia, swordfish from the salty waters, Baccala'. The wine and spirit brands are endless. You can order from the menu or let Giacomo suggest a personilized customized dinner. Try this restaurant first.........you will not regret it. You want real Italian food, go to Donatello Restaurant at 37 Elm St. south side between Bay and Yonge in Toronto...........tell Giacomo Dominic Stagliano sent you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Semprecurcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donatello Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Donatello Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing