We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise is here”

Canoe Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Canoe Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 8,439 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: Bay and Wellington Streets
Transit: King and Bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise is here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

After coming here for the first time, you get the feeling you had an amazing food, but probabçy was just luck, and you were in a good mood!

But when you go again, you find that is not just luck! Is because here food is amazing! So we had another superb meal, finished with a Butter Tart that makes you believe you're simply entering the paradise!!!

The sommelier made great suggestions for wines to go with the food and don't forget the view, either during the day, but specially at night.

The only point I can suggest that can be improved, is the initial long time it took before we could make our order, you can reduce that in order to by simply perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    353
    108
    45
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Apart of the Oliver and Bonacini chain, all of their restaurants are amazing, but this is a tier above the rest. Truly a memorable dining experience. I wasn't planning on eating there and showed up in my Raptor's jersey and was treated just as great as the 50+ yr old man in a suit beside me. The food was perfect, and everything was described in vivid deal by the waiter. If you wanted anything any employee would cater to you. Apart from the amazing food and the great service you also experience a view of Toronto that rivals that of the CN Tower.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiamT1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still Got It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Canoe is a rare example of a great restaurant that's managed to stay relevant--and very, very good--for a long time. Dined here for a late lunch recently which was delicious, and enhanced by attentive, professional service. Despite the restaurant's age (ancient by standards of TO's hyperactive dining scene) it still feels fresh.

The only blemish was getting stuck in the elevator for 20 minutes on the way up!

I would very happily return, and certainly will.

Helpful?
Thank Mattcampbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

First time in Toronto - and had read great things about CANOE - and went way beyond expectations !
From arrival every member to Canoe's Team makes you feel welcome and part of this great experience. Cocktails first, with amazing view of the city, then seated at a window table, the whole experience was outstanding from beginning to end.
We had the tasting menu - thrilling and the occasional positive surprise - and how often does that happen?
Helped but every team member that seemed to care this was the best experience you could have.

Truely an outstanding evening - thanks to all - one of the best ever.
Go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The view was incredible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We ate there on a rainy evening and so the view was obscured for the most part but once the clouds cleared the view was spectacular. Sophisticated trendy crowd, The dining room is simply decorated with the emphasis being the view. Service was excellent but the food did not live to expectations, with two of our party returning their tough tri tip dish to the kitchen. The portions are small and the accompanying side dishes are bewildering to the point that the waiter feels it necessary to explain what is on the plate. Long convuluted names do not make blueberries, rappini, potato croquettes taste any more interesting than they are. We did however have a leisurely evening, although our long table for 10 was not conducive to conversation

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrogate46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Canoe Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing