We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea to remember!”

Victoria's Restaurant
Ranked #1,059 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge and King
Description: Located in one of Toronto’s most prestigious hotels, King Edward Hotel, Victoria's is a popular spot for business brunches and theatregoers alike. Executive Chef Daniel Schick has brought the guests of Le Méridien King Edward 12 years of astonishingly delicious and consistently inventive gastronomy. The Chef fuses traditional and cutting-edge contemporary in his preparations, integrating seasonal and local ingredients with classical cooking methods.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Though pricy, we were impressed with the quality of both the teas and the food. Service was also excellent. The children's tea was just amazing! Unfortunately, tea is only offered Saturday and Sunday.
Ask for extra lemon curd for your scones!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdijetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Even when it's wrong Omni makes it right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Business breakfast meetings are often short and sweet so we were surprised when it took fifteen minutes to be seated by a very distracted hostess at our reserved table in a half empty room and even more surprised that we had to wait another twenty minutes to order and no food arrived for an hour and a quarter from the time we walked in. We only had five minutes to eat by the time the order arrived with the house manager and an apology and the offer to comp the meal without being asked. Everyone can have an off day, but Omni at least tries to make it right. We didn't have time to stay and eat, but it looked delicious

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, OR
Level Contributor
205 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Must for Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just as a preface - we love Afternoon Teas!
It had been a long day and many miles to get to Toronto ... even at 3:00 on a Sunday afternoon .... and we were in desperate need for something really special. So we called to see if they had a table for two worn out travelers who wanted Afternoon Tea. A friendly voice replied, come on over, we'll have a table waiting for you ... just park out front, our valet will take care of your car. We pulled up to the King Edward Hotel ready to just collapse... and just like she said, the valet said just leave your car right there and we will watch it for you (and move it if they had to)... so we just abandoned our car in a strange town with strangers and walked into the gorgeous hotel! At once -- and I mean AT ONCE -- we began to relax and realize that this might be one of the best surprises that we'd have in Toronto. They sat us at a quiet table and then started the "tea routine" ... "Do you want champagne or sherry to start off the afternoon?" I opted for the sherry which was wonderful ... and the rest of the afternoon slipped away into an perfect date with the guy that I'd just traveled 2700 miles with. Our server (Hector) described each item on the tower slowly and completely. It was delightful to look at - and even better to savor piece by piece. This tea was wonderful.... and the valet didn't even charge for parking when we returned to the car after TWO hours.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pretty good Sunday brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the King Edward hotel over the weekend and decided to have brunch at the hotel. It was pretty good. The selection was good although not outstanding for the price. Service was just OK. Very hard just to get a waiter to get a glass of wine and one of the staff who was working with our waiter just ignored us and proceeded to set his table when we asked for the wine list. Quite frankly, we didn't really know WHO our waiter was.... We dined in the main dining room which you would think is more pleasant than the other room which is used to serve breakfast. It was loud and you kind of had the impression that you were eating a KFC diner at the Cub Scout's annual dinner when you were 8. The sound level is quite high and amplified by the room. Add a few crying babies and well you have trouble carrying on a conversation. The room was also exceedingly hot. My wife commented it must be an older room with insufficient air conditioning. All in all, if I had to redo it, I think I would have preferred to dine in the other room. Food quality was good but nothing to write home about. Leg of lamb was terribly overcooked to the point it was very very tough. Beef Wellington was probably the best part. Just because it is a buffet, it doesn't mean the meat should be overcooked and dried out (as with the pork) The cold buffet, the nice selection of cheeses and sausages made up for it. I skipped desserts although my wife did have a piece of cake which she said was very good. Would I recommend this place? Yes but be forewarned. It is expensive for what you get. If you don't mind that, go for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best scones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

High tea at the King Eddy can be a grand affair. The event begins with your selection of tea, and there’re about 12 to choose from. Next finger sandwiches are brought to your table and there’s an interesting take on classic ones. If you love scones, then you’ve come to the right place! The recipe used is incredible! It was developed by a former chef who served the scones to the Queen of England. They’re served with fresh cream and local strawberry preserves. So yummy! The rest of the petite desserts were divine, too, especially the chocolate chestnut torte. Check the web site at http://www.thekingedwardhotel.com/assets/kingedward/Tea%20menu%20-%20Jan%202013.pdf since the menu is seasonal and does change.

In addition, there is more than one menu to choose from. You can have the Ploughman’s High Tea, which is cheaper, $32 compared to $39 for the King’s Tea. If you order the King’s Tea you can also add a glass of champagne or sherry for additional charge.

It can also be a family gathering too since they carter to young children (most places don’t do this). Children 12 and younger can order the Jester’s Tea for $20 and receive finger foods, a selection of desserts and a special drink (choice from hot chocolate with marshmallows, milk or apple cider). My 5 year old daughter had a grand time pretending to be a princess and enjoyed the food and experience very much.

Lastly, if you have dietary restrictions, they will cater to your needs as long as you give them 48 hours of advance notice.

Overall, the service was great, food terrific and everyone had a fabulous time. I highly recommend it for a special occasion, such as, Mother’s Day, birthday celebration or something to do out of the ordinary!

Afternoon Tea is from Friday – Sunday, 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM. Reservations are highly recommended and can be made at 416-863-4125.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Cup-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria's Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Victoria's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing