We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my faves in TO”
Review of Cafe La Gaffe

Cafe La Gaffe
Ranked #1,109 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Picton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my faves in TO”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a great restaurant with friendly staff. They purchase their meat from a supplier that ensures it comes from animals that were treated humanely. All of their food is fresh, and the wine selection is good for a smaller restaurant. Good people-watching from the patio!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishLake2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A gaffe indeed - won't be back soon”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just had lunch here. Service was good enough, although my friend had to ask twice for the hot sauce which finally came half-way through her meal.

I had the Mediterranean pizza and it was brutal. The crust was overly crispy and the tomato sauce on it very acid. A few chunks of tomato seemed to make up the topping.

Won't be back here in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marientoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Carling, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went here for the May long weekend on the Sat. We had bought a Buytopia for this restaurant. I have to say we were blown away!!!!!!! I had the warm bri and Arugula salad with Bacon. I wanted to lick my plate but I had to be polite! My partner had the escargot and he said it was the best he ever had. We both had the steak and I remember smiling as I was eating. It was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. Desert was amazing as well we both had the creme Brulee. The two girls who served us were excellent and were so welcoming. I have a picture to post coming soon. Thank you so very much for making our 10 year anniversary very memorable. The next time we come to Toronto you will be the ONLY place we eat at!!!!! Kudos to the chef!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quaint Bistro”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Casual bistro in Kensington area. Small and cozy. Popped in for dinner - no reservation - no problem. The Mussels Marius was great as was the penne. Service was good. Didn't feel rushed. Fairly good wine selection. Would recommend a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Really cute place”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very cutesy place, classic Baldwin appearance. Great soups, sandwiches, salads. Recommend the warm Brie with bacon salad, which was top-notch in my opinion. The service is good, kind waiters. The outdoor tables are small and cute. Great date place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe La Gaffe also viewed

 

Been to Cafe La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing