We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfasts”
Review of Celestin - CLOSED

Celestin
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Manor Road
Transit: Eglinton Station - Take any eastbound bus to Mount Pleasant Road and Eglinton Avenue intersection. Walk South 2 lights. We are located on the north east corner of Mount Pleasant Road and Manor Road
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have dined here twice, both times during the breakfast hours on a Sunday. The food has been very good, with impeccable service. They will prepare things precisely to your specifications, and the atmosphere is classy yet relaxing. It's definitely worth your time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamus_O_Rooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    14
    10
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“this is our 4th time in this restaurant and the last”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Today February 12 we went there with an other couple for the Winterlicioius lunch..
Our reservation was for 1:00 pm.We gave our order at 1:10.I asked for a beer to start.I had to wait 20 minutes to get it after I approached 2 waiters in order to get it.,
For the appetizer we waited over a half an hour. I had to ask 3 times to get it finally. waiters and quiete rudly i was told to wait they are busy.For the main course we waited and waited again
Finaly around 2:10 we received the main course.As mentioned we were in the restaurant at 1:00.My Husband asked the waiter for some bread as they did not bring any to the table and he said If he wants bread he has to pay for it.,because during wintelicious they charge for the bread.
We have been many restaurants for winter and Summer licious,but bread was always provided.
This is the first time a restaurant ask to pay for the bread.

We had a very bad experience with slow and impolite service.
We will not return to this place again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vandorlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Neighbourhood Restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you find yourself uptown in the Yonge-Egg area, you've got to try Celestin.. We've been here quite a few times and know to expect excellent quality food, service, in a this relaxed and smart neighbourhood atmosphere resto. You can arrive in casual, or business, and still fit right in. I really do enjoy the bistro feel to the restaurant. Table visits will come from owner, server, and assistant staff to ensure you receive the best possible service. Items from the menu are well thought of and chef prepared. You know care is taken in preparation and presentation. Although I am not a "big" coffee drinker during meals, Celestine's house coffee is bold and strong - well worth the repeated refills if you don't mind the caffeine buzz ;-)

I haven't tried the sister restaurant Ardor Bistro on Ossington Ave., but will definately try it now that I know it exists.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hugemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were a party of five in the first week of January. Wine list has very little for less than $150. We ordered a modest red. They were out so the server returned with an a suggested replacement...it was white. ??? Typified the evening. Four starters were served, a wait of minutes for the fifth to arrive. Same for the main course. The veal chop was served in a soup bowl with the bone banging around as we tried to cut. Bad idea. The server's response "I've had a lot of customers say that". One of the group asked to substitute frites for the boiled potatoes..."no substitutions allowed". But frites could be ordered as a side dish at an extra charge. Never again Celestin.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good start to 2014”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

i have been here before, and returned hopeful for New Year's Eve. Not at all good. We had the nine o'clock sitting, so you would think they would have it down pat. Not so much.A tasting menu. but the food was cold, the dishes over reaching and often odd indeed. There were hardly any vegetables at all in five main courses, and the dessert, it looked like tooth paste and tasted worse. It took four tries to get the wine right, and three tries to get the water for the table.

The bill would have been fine if it had been good, but it was over four hundred and tip a couple for the worst meal i have had in a very long time. if i were the type to take pictures of my food, it would be quite funny. We did not make a fuss at the time, as it was a small room and would have spoiled others' fun, if they really had any.Who knows? The music was good, the servers cheerful, if a bit inept and the host friendly. But really, what a let down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celestin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing